Skip to content

Central Washington University vs Washington State University

Central Washington University is a public university in Ellensburg, WA, and Washington State University is a public university in Pullman, WA. Washington State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 87% of applicants against 91% at Central Washington University. Washington State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,971 a year against $18,476 at Central Washington University. About 61% of students graduate at Washington State University, compared with 52% at Central Washington University. Ten years after enrolling, Washington State University alumni earn a median of about $68,905, against $61,580 for Central Washington University.

Central Washington University

Ellensburg, WA · Public

Washington State University

Pullman, WA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Ellensburg, WA
Pullman, WA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
7,833
21,099
Acceptance rate
91%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1150
1020–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,476
$14,971
Full cost / yr
$28,816
$27,648
In-state tuition
$9,417
$13,391
Out-of-state tuition
$27,526
$29,950
Application fee
$60
$70
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,846
$7,074
$30k - $48k
$13,942
$8,971
$48k - $75k
$16,022
$11,519
$75k - $110k
$21,682
$18,426
Over $110k
$26,719
$24,726
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
61%
Freshman retention
70%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,398
$53,510
Median earnings (10 yr)
$61,580
$68,905
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
27%
First-generation students
40%
34%
International students
2%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Mar 31

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central Washington University or Washington State University harder to get into?
Washington State University is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 91% at Central Washington University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central Washington University or Washington State University?
Washington State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,971 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,476 at Central Washington University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central Washington University and Washington State University?
Before aid, Washington State University costs about $27,648 a year and Central Washington University about $28,816. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central Washington University or Washington State University?
Washington State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,074 there, against about $11,846 at Central Washington University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central Washington University or Washington State University?
Washington State University is the larger of the two, with about 21,099 undergraduates against 7,833 at Central Washington University.
Does Central Washington University or Washington State University have a better graduation rate?
Washington State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 52% at Central Washington University.
Do graduates of Central Washington University or Washington State University earn more?
Washington State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $68,905 ten years after enrolling, against about $61,580 for Central Washington University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central Washington University and Washington State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Central Washington University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Washington State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Central Washington University and Washington State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1150 at Central Washington University and 1020–1210 at Washington State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school