Skip to content

Chadron State College vs University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Chadron State College is a public college in Chadron, NE, and University of Nebraska-Lincoln is a public university in Lincoln, NE. University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the more selective of the two, admitting about 87% of applicants against 100% at Chadron State College. Chadron State College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,549 a year against $17,747 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. About 66% of students graduate at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, compared with 44% at Chadron State College. Ten years after enrolling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn a median of about $56,887, against $47,002 for Chadron State College.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Chadron State College

Chadron, NE · Public

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Lincoln, NE · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Chadron, NE
Lincoln, NE
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,540
19,178
Acceptance rate
100%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1098–1330
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,549
$17,747
Full cost / yr
$21,132
$26,697
In-state tuition
$8,290
$10,434
Out-of-state tuition
$8,290
$28,584
Application fee
Not reported
$45
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,047
$12,751
$30k - $48k
$10,090
$13,054
$48k - $75k
$12,561
$14,699
$75k - $110k
$14,674
$18,975
Over $110k
$16,047
$22,346
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
66%
Freshman retention
63%
86%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,139
$47,692
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,002
$56,887
Median debt at graduation
$18,875
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
23%
First-generation students
39%
22%
International students
2%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln harder to get into?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 100% at Chadron State College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
Chadron State College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,549 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,747 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Chadron State College and University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
Before aid, Chadron State College costs about $21,132 a year and University of Nebraska-Lincoln about $26,697. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
Chadron State College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,047 there, against about $12,751 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the larger of the two, with about 19,178 undergraduates against 1,540 at Chadron State College.
Does Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln have a better graduation rate?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 44% at Chadron State College.
Do graduates of Chadron State College or University of Nebraska-Lincoln earn more?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,887 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,002 for Chadron State College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Chadron State College and University of Nebraska-Lincoln require SAT or ACT scores?
Chadron State College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Nebraska-Lincoln considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school