Skip to content

Charleston Southern University vs Columbia College

Charleston Southern University is a private university in Charleston, SC, and Columbia College is a private college in Columbia, SC. Columbia College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 94% of applicants against 96% at Charleston Southern University. Columbia College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,408 a year against $21,666 at Charleston Southern University. About 48% of students graduate at Charleston Southern University, compared with 45% at Columbia College. Ten years after enrolling, Charleston Southern University alumni earn a median of about $45,898, against $41,338 for Columbia College.

Charleston Southern University

Charleston, SC · Private

Columbia College

Columbia, SC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Charleston, SC
Columbia, SC
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,893
1,343
Acceptance rate
96%
94%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.09–3.59
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1160
850–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
14–18
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$21,666
$18,408
Full cost / yr
$44,558
$35,258
In-state tuition
$32,520
$22,214
Out-of-state tuition
$32,520
$22,214
Application fee
$25
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,145
$17,541
$30k - $48k
$23,024
$17,017
$48k - $75k
$20,697
$16,816
$75k - $110k
$21,648
$22,928
Over $110k
$23,226
$20,399
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
45%
Freshman retention
63%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,606
$45,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,898
$41,338
Median debt at graduation
$26,471
$22,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
54%
First-generation students
31%
41%
International students
3%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Charleston Southern University or Columbia College harder to get into?
Columbia College is harder to get into. It admits about 94% of applicants, compared with 96% at Charleston Southern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Charleston Southern University or Columbia College?
Columbia College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,408 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,666 at Charleston Southern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Charleston Southern University and Columbia College?
Before aid, Columbia College costs about $35,258 a year and Charleston Southern University about $44,558. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Charleston Southern University or Columbia College?
Columbia College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,541 there, against about $20,145 at Charleston Southern University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Charleston Southern University or Columbia College?
Charleston Southern University is the larger of the two, with about 2,893 undergraduates against 1,343 at Columbia College.
Does Charleston Southern University or Columbia College have a better graduation rate?
Charleston Southern University has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 45% at Columbia College.
Do graduates of Charleston Southern University or Columbia College earn more?
Charleston Southern University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,898 ten years after enrolling, against about $41,338 for Columbia College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Charleston Southern University and Columbia College require SAT or ACT scores?
Charleston Southern University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Columbia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Charleston Southern University and Columbia College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1160 at Charleston Southern University and 850–1140 at Columbia College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school