Skip to content

Chowan University vs St. Andrews University

Chowan University is a private university in Murfreesboro, NC. St. Andrews University is a private university in Laurinburg, NC. St. Andrews University admits about 65% of applicants and Chowan University about 69%, making St. Andrews University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,086 a year at Chowan University after aid, and about $32,513 at St. Andrews University. About 29% of students graduate at Chowan University, compared with 28% at St. Andrews University. Ten years after enrolling, St. Andrews University alumni earn a median of about $45,606, against $38,412 for Chowan University.

Chowan University

Murfreesboro, NC · Private

St. Andrews University

Laurinburg, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Murfreesboro, NC
Laurinburg, NC
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
603
628
Acceptance rate
69%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.33–3.83
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1145
778–1153
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
15–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,086
$32,513
Full cost / yr
$39,027
$50,681
In-state tuition
$27,910
$32,388
Out-of-state tuition
$27,910
$32,388
Application fee
$20
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,726
$29,730
$30k - $48k
$10,950
$28,132
$48k - $75k
$14,549
$32,747
$75k - $110k
$14,565
$36,377
Over $110k
$19,713
$37,063
Outcomes
Graduation rate
29%
28%
Freshman retention
71%
48%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,096
$37,691
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,412
$45,606
Median debt at graduation
$29,491
$25,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
57%
49%
First-generation students
37%
37%
International students
9%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Chowan University or St. Andrews University harder to get into?
St. Andrews University is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 69% at Chowan University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Chowan University or St. Andrews University?
Chowan University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,086 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,513 at St. Andrews University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Chowan University and St. Andrews University?
Before aid, Chowan University costs about $39,027 a year and St. Andrews University about $50,681. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Chowan University or St. Andrews University?
Chowan University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,726 there, against about $29,730 at St. Andrews University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Chowan University or St. Andrews University?
St. Andrews University is the larger of the two, with about 628 undergraduates against 603 at Chowan University.
Does Chowan University or St. Andrews University have a better graduation rate?
Chowan University has the higher graduation rate, at about 29% against 28% at St. Andrews University.
Do graduates of Chowan University or St. Andrews University earn more?
St. Andrews University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,606 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,412 for Chowan University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Chowan University and St. Andrews University require SAT or ACT scores?
Chowan University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. St. Andrews University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Chowan University and St. Andrews University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1145 at Chowan University and 778–1153 at St. Andrews University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school