Skip to content

Citadel Military College of South Carolina vs Francis Marion University

Citadel Military College of South Carolina is a public college in Charleston, SC. Francis Marion University is a public university in Florence, SC. Citadel Military College of South Carolina admits about 23% of applicants and Francis Marion University about 86%, making Citadel Military College of South Carolina the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $11,386 a year at Francis Marion University after aid, and about $20,723 at Citadel Military College of South Carolina. About 74% of students graduate at Citadel Military College of South Carolina, compared with 43% at Francis Marion University. Ten years after enrolling, Citadel Military College of South Carolina alumni earn a median of about $72,085, against $43,888 for Francis Marion University.

Citadel Military College of South Carolina

Charleston, SC · Public

Francis Marion University

Florence, SC · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Charleston, SC
Florence, SC
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
2,705
2,628
Acceptance rate
23%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–4
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
1085–1285
870–1115
ACT (middle 50%)
22–27
16–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,723
$11,386
Full cost / yr
$33,880
$23,850
In-state tuition
$12,570
$11,160
Out-of-state tuition
$38,508
$21,544
Application fee
$40
$41
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,430
$9,723
$30k - $48k
$16,456
$9,449
$48k - $75k
$18,140
$11,582
$75k - $110k
$20,620
$13,788
Over $110k
$24,047
$17,435
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
43%
Freshman retention
86%
70%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$60,168
$36,304
Median earnings (10 yr)
$72,085
$43,888
Median debt at graduation
$21,096
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
20%
38%
First-generation students
19%
36%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University harder to get into?
Citadel Military College of South Carolina is harder to get into. It admits about 23% of applicants, compared with 86% at Francis Marion University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University?
Francis Marion University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,386 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,723 at Citadel Military College of South Carolina. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Citadel Military College of South Carolina and Francis Marion University?
Before aid, Francis Marion University costs about $23,850 a year and Citadel Military College of South Carolina about $33,880. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University?
Francis Marion University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,723 there, against about $15,430 at Citadel Military College of South Carolina. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University?
Citadel Military College of South Carolina is the larger of the two, with about 2,705 undergraduates against 2,628 at Francis Marion University.
Does Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University have a better graduation rate?
Citadel Military College of South Carolina has the higher graduation rate, at about 74% against 43% at Francis Marion University.
Do graduates of Citadel Military College of South Carolina or Francis Marion University earn more?
Citadel Military College of South Carolina alumni earn more on average: a median of about $72,085 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,888 for Francis Marion University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Citadel Military College of South Carolina and Francis Marion University require SAT or ACT scores?
Citadel Military College of South Carolina is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Francis Marion University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Citadel Military College of South Carolina and Francis Marion University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1085–1285 at Citadel Military College of South Carolina and 870–1115 at Francis Marion University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school