Skip to content

Claflin University vs Erskine College

Claflin University is a private university in Orangeburg, SC. Erskine College is a private college in Due West, SC. Erskine College admits about 63% of applicants and Claflin University about 65%, making Erskine College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,525 a year at Erskine College after aid, and about $17,800 at Claflin University. About 50% of students graduate at Claflin University, compared with 47% at Erskine College. Ten years after enrolling, Erskine College alumni earn a median of about $53,459, against $40,304 for Claflin University.

Claflin University

Orangeburg, SC · Private

Erskine College

Due West, SC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Orangeburg, SC
Due West, SC
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,706
766
Acceptance rate
65%
63%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
840–1040
920–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
16–18
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,800
$16,525
Full cost / yr
$33,530
$55,248
In-state tuition
$18,282
$36,710
Out-of-state tuition
$18,282
$36,710
Application fee
$30
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,354
$14,555
$30k - $48k
$21,118
$12,666
$48k - $75k
$22,279
$18,652
$75k - $110k
$23,502
$16,405
Over $110k
$25,071
$18,942
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
47%
Freshman retention
75%
56%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,227
$39,618
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,304
$53,459
Median debt at graduation
$29,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
73%
47%
First-generation students
32%
22%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Apr 3
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Claflin University or Erskine College harder to get into?
Erskine College is harder to get into. It admits about 63% of applicants, compared with 65% at Claflin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Claflin University or Erskine College?
Erskine College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,525 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,800 at Claflin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Claflin University and Erskine College?
Before aid, Claflin University costs about $33,530 a year and Erskine College about $55,248. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Claflin University or Erskine College?
Erskine College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,555 there, against about $16,354 at Claflin University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Claflin University or Erskine College?
Claflin University is the larger of the two, with about 1,706 undergraduates against 766 at Erskine College.
Does Claflin University or Erskine College have a better graduation rate?
Claflin University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 47% at Erskine College.
Do graduates of Claflin University or Erskine College earn more?
Erskine College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,459 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,304 for Claflin University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Claflin University and Erskine College require SAT or ACT scores?
Claflin University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Erskine College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Claflin University and Erskine College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 840–1040 at Claflin University and 920–1150 at Erskine College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school