Clarkson University vs United States Military Academy
Clarkson University is a private university in Potsdam, NY, and United States Military Academy is a public university in West Point, NY. United States Military Academy is the more selective of the two, admitting about 12% of applicants against 77% at Clarkson University. About 86% of students graduate at United States Military Academy, compared with 74% at Clarkson University.
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Potsdam, NY
West Point, NY
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,196
4,408
Acceptance rate
77%
12%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–3.95
3.45–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1200–1390
1200–1430
ACT (middle 50%)
25–32
27–33
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$30,305
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$79,022
Not reported
In-state tuition
$59,398
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$59,398
Not reported
Application fee
$50
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,335
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$19,934
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$23,321
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$30,990
Not reported
Over $110k
$35,757
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
86%
Freshman retention
85%
95%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$76,970
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$89,696
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
Not reported
First-generation students
15%
Not reported
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Dec 1
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jan 15
Jan 31
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Clarkson University or United States Military Academy harder to get into?
- United States Military Academy is harder to get into. It admits about 12% of applicants, compared with 77% at Clarkson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Clarkson University or United States Military Academy?
- United States Military Academy is the larger of the two, with about 4,408 undergraduates against 2,196 at Clarkson University.
- Does Clarkson University or United States Military Academy have a better graduation rate?
- United States Military Academy has the higher graduation rate, at about 86% against 74% at Clarkson University.
- Do Clarkson University and United States Military Academy require SAT or ACT scores?
- Clarkson University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. United States Military Academy requires SAT or ACT scores.
- What SAT scores do Clarkson University and United States Military Academy look for?
- The middle 50% of admitted students score 1200–1390 at Clarkson University and 1200–1430 at United States Military Academy. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.
Related comparisons
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school