Skip to content

Cleary University vs University of Michigan-Flint

Cleary University is a private university in Howell, MI. University of Michigan-Flint is a public university in Flint, MI. Cleary University admits about 68% of applicants and University of Michigan-Flint about 70%, making Cleary University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $7,007 a year at University of Michigan-Flint after aid, and about $22,143 at Cleary University. About 42% of students graduate at University of Michigan-Flint, compared with 41% at Cleary University. Ten years after enrolling, Cleary University alumni earn a median of about $54,186, against $53,230 for University of Michigan-Flint.

Cleary University

Howell, MI · Private

University of Michigan-Flint

Flint, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Howell, MI
Flint, MI
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
738
4,411
Acceptance rate
68%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1170
970–1243
ACT (middle 50%)
18–19
19–24
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,143
$7,007
Full cost / yr
$39,718
$20,915
In-state tuition
$26,102
$14,704
Out-of-state tuition
$26,102
$28,320
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,046
$1,517
$30k - $48k
$18,917
$2,386
$48k - $75k
$15,328
$3,752
$75k - $110k
$20,797
$9,167
Over $110k
$27,372
$12,333
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
42%
Freshman retention
66%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,077
$45,453
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,186
$53,230
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
39%
First-generation students
42%
37%
International students
5%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint harder to get into?
Cleary University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 70% at University of Michigan-Flint. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,007 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,143 at Cleary University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cleary University and University of Michigan-Flint?
Before aid, University of Michigan-Flint costs about $20,915 a year and Cleary University about $39,718. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,517 there, against about $18,046 at Cleary University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is the larger of the two, with about 4,411 undergraduates against 738 at Cleary University.
Does Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint have a better graduation rate?
University of Michigan-Flint has the higher graduation rate, at about 42% against 41% at Cleary University.
Do graduates of Cleary University or University of Michigan-Flint earn more?
Cleary University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,186 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,230 for University of Michigan-Flint. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cleary University and University of Michigan-Flint require SAT or ACT scores?
Cleary University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of Michigan-Flint considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Cleary University and University of Michigan-Flint look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1170 at Cleary University and 970–1243 at University of Michigan-Flint. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school