Skip to content

Cleveland Institute of Art vs Wilberforce University

Cleveland Institute of Art is a private institute in Cleveland, OH. Wilberforce University is a private university in Wilberforce, OH. Wilberforce University admits about 41% of applicants and Cleveland Institute of Art about 61%, making Wilberforce University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $5,567 a year at Wilberforce University after aid, and about $29,208 at Cleveland Institute of Art. About 62% of students graduate at Cleveland Institute of Art, compared with 13% at Wilberforce University. Ten years after enrolling, Cleveland Institute of Art alumni earn a median of about $42,509, against $38,298 for Wilberforce University.

Cleveland Institute of Art

Cleveland, OH · Private

Wilberforce University

Wilberforce, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Cleveland, OH
Wilberforce, OH
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
539
822
Acceptance rate
61%
41%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.2–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1280
840–940
ACT (middle 50%)
23–29
15–21
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$29,208
$5,567
Full cost / yr
$64,587
$25,676
In-state tuition
$49,400
$16,448
Out-of-state tuition
$49,400
$16,448
Application fee
$0
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,423
$5,630
$30k - $48k
$24,992
$5,313
$48k - $75k
$26,654
$5,211
$75k - $110k
$30,518
$5,217
Over $110k
$37,436
$5,226
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
13%
Freshman retention
88%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,148
$35,146
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,509
$38,298
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,468
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
74%
First-generation students
27%
46%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Mar 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University harder to get into?
Wilberforce University is harder to get into. It admits about 41% of applicants, compared with 61% at Cleveland Institute of Art. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University?
Wilberforce University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $5,567 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,208 at Cleveland Institute of Art. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cleveland Institute of Art and Wilberforce University?
Before aid, Wilberforce University costs about $25,676 a year and Cleveland Institute of Art about $64,587. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University?
Wilberforce University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,630 there, against about $23,423 at Cleveland Institute of Art. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University?
Wilberforce University is the larger of the two, with about 822 undergraduates against 539 at Cleveland Institute of Art.
Does Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University have a better graduation rate?
Cleveland Institute of Art has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 13% at Wilberforce University.
Do graduates of Cleveland Institute of Art or Wilberforce University earn more?
Cleveland Institute of Art alumni earn more on average: a median of about $42,509 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,298 for Wilberforce University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cleveland Institute of Art and Wilberforce University require SAT or ACT scores?
Cleveland Institute of Art considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Wilberforce University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Cleveland Institute of Art and Wilberforce University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1280 at Cleveland Institute of Art and 840–940 at Wilberforce University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school