Skip to content

Cleveland State University vs Ohio University-Eastern Campus

Cleveland State University is a public university in Cleveland, OH, and Ohio University-Eastern Campus is a public university in Saint Clairsville, OH. Ohio University-Eastern Campus is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 91% at Cleveland State University. Ohio University-Eastern Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $3,925 a year against $14,764 at Cleveland State University. About 50% of students graduate at Cleveland State University, compared with 20% at Ohio University-Eastern Campus. Ten years after enrolling, Ohio University-Eastern Campus alumni earn a median of about $52,581, against $52,131 for Cleveland State University.

Cleveland State University

Cleveland, OH · Public

Ohio University-Eastern Campus

Saint Clairsville, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Cleveland, OH
Saint Clairsville, OH
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
8,969
298
Acceptance rate
91%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1130
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,764
$3,925
Full cost / yr
$27,159
$10,777
In-state tuition
$12,988
$6,362
Out-of-state tuition
$18,510
$9,444
Application fee
$0
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,958
$1,691
$30k - $48k
$13,561
$2,178
$48k - $75k
$14,727
$4,438
$75k - $110k
$15,690
$5,927
Over $110k
$20,378
$7,490
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
20%
Freshman retention
70%
63%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,625
$48,991
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,131
$52,581
Median debt at graduation
$21,797
$21,056
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
10%
First-generation students
38%
34%
International students
6%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus harder to get into?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 91% at Cleveland State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,925 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,764 at Cleveland State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cleveland State University and Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Before aid, Ohio University-Eastern Campus costs about $10,777 a year and Cleveland State University about $27,159. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,691 there, against about $11,958 at Cleveland State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus?
Cleveland State University is the larger of the two, with about 8,969 undergraduates against 298 at Ohio University-Eastern Campus.
Does Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus have a better graduation rate?
Cleveland State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 20% at Ohio University-Eastern Campus.
Do graduates of Cleveland State University or Ohio University-Eastern Campus earn more?
Ohio University-Eastern Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,581 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,131 for Cleveland State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school