Skip to content

Cleveland State University vs University of Toledo

Cleveland State University is a public university in Cleveland, OH, and University of Toledo is a public university in Toledo, OH. Cleveland State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 91% of applicants against 92% at University of Toledo. Cleveland State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,764 a year against $17,249 at University of Toledo. About 56% of students graduate at University of Toledo, compared with 50% at Cleveland State University. Ten years after enrolling, Cleveland State University alumni earn a median of about $52,131, against $50,632 for University of Toledo.

Cleveland State University

Cleveland, OH · Public

University of Toledo

Toledo, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Cleveland, OH
Toledo, OH
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,969
9,770
Acceptance rate
91%
92%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1130
1100–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
23–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,764
$17,249
Full cost / yr
$27,159
$26,512
In-state tuition
$12,988
$12,744
Out-of-state tuition
$18,510
$22,104
Application fee
$0
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,958
$13,524
$30k - $48k
$13,561
$13,365
$48k - $75k
$14,727
$16,407
$75k - $110k
$15,690
$19,659
Over $110k
$20,378
$22,053
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
56%
Freshman retention
70%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,625
$44,162
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,131
$50,632
Median debt at graduation
$21,797
$22,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
27%
First-generation students
38%
33%
International students
6%
9%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cleveland State University or University of Toledo harder to get into?
Cleveland State University is harder to get into. It admits about 91% of applicants, compared with 92% at University of Toledo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cleveland State University or University of Toledo?
Cleveland State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,764 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,249 at University of Toledo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cleveland State University and University of Toledo?
Before aid, University of Toledo costs about $26,512 a year and Cleveland State University about $27,159. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cleveland State University or University of Toledo?
Cleveland State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,958 there, against about $13,524 at University of Toledo. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cleveland State University or University of Toledo?
University of Toledo is the larger of the two, with about 9,770 undergraduates against 8,969 at Cleveland State University.
Does Cleveland State University or University of Toledo have a better graduation rate?
University of Toledo has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 50% at Cleveland State University.
Do graduates of Cleveland State University or University of Toledo earn more?
Cleveland State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,131 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,632 for University of Toledo. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cleveland State University and University of Toledo require SAT or ACT scores?
Cleveland State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Toledo is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Cleveland State University and University of Toledo look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1130 at Cleveland State University and 1100–1300 at University of Toledo. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school