Skip to content

College for Creative Studies vs Lawrence Technological University

College for Creative Studies is a private college in Detroit, MI. Lawrence Technological University is a private university in Southfield, MI. Lawrence Technological University admits about 56% of applicants and College for Creative Studies about 92%, making Lawrence Technological University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $32,918 a year at Lawrence Technological University after aid, and about $34,617 at College for Creative Studies. About 70% of students graduate at College for Creative Studies, compared with 62% at Lawrence Technological University. Ten years after enrolling, Lawrence Technological University alumni earn a median of about $69,151, against $44,860 for College for Creative Studies.

College for Creative Studies

Detroit, MI · Private

Lawrence Technological University

Southfield, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Detroit, MI
Southfield, MI
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,230
1,668
Acceptance rate
92%
56%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1190
1020–1270
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
21–27
Test policy
Test blind
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$34,617
$32,918
Full cost / yr
$66,014
$58,166
In-state tuition
$53,350
$44,760
Out-of-state tuition
$53,350
$44,760
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$30,267
$25,980
$30k - $48k
$33,152
$27,036
$48k - $75k
$33,647
$28,082
$75k - $110k
$33,667
$33,632
Over $110k
$38,580
$37,492
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
62%
Freshman retention
82%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,691
$58,827
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,860
$69,151
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
16%
First-generation students
23%
22%
International students
7%
10%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University harder to get into?
Lawrence Technological University is harder to get into. It admits about 56% of applicants, compared with 92% at College for Creative Studies. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University?
Lawrence Technological University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $32,918 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $34,617 at College for Creative Studies. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at College for Creative Studies and Lawrence Technological University?
Before aid, Lawrence Technological University costs about $58,166 a year and College for Creative Studies about $66,014. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University?
Lawrence Technological University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $25,980 there, against about $30,267 at College for Creative Studies. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University?
Lawrence Technological University is the larger of the two, with about 1,668 undergraduates against 1,230 at College for Creative Studies.
Does College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University have a better graduation rate?
College for Creative Studies has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 62% at Lawrence Technological University.
Do graduates of College for Creative Studies or Lawrence Technological University earn more?
Lawrence Technological University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $69,151 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,860 for College for Creative Studies. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do College for Creative Studies and Lawrence Technological University require SAT or ACT scores?
College for Creative Studies is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Lawrence Technological University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do College for Creative Studies and Lawrence Technological University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1190 at College for Creative Studies and 1020–1270 at Lawrence Technological University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school