Skip to content

College of Coastal Georgia vs Middle Georgia State University

College of Coastal Georgia is a public college in Brunswick, GA, and Middle Georgia State University is a public university in Macon, GA. College of Coastal Georgia is the more selective of the two, admitting about 98% of applicants against 100% at Middle Georgia State University. Middle Georgia State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,361 a year against $15,261 at College of Coastal Georgia. About 26% of students graduate at College of Coastal Georgia, compared with 25% at Middle Georgia State University. Ten years after enrolling, Middle Georgia State University alumni earn a median of about $40,863, against $39,318 for College of Coastal Georgia.

College of Coastal Georgia

Brunswick, GA · Public

Middle Georgia State University

Macon, GA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Brunswick, GA
Macon, GA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,979
6,574
Acceptance rate
98%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.06–3.56
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
875–1100
950–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
17–22
16–24
Test policy
Considered
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,261
$12,361
Full cost / yr
$21,924
$19,617
In-state tuition
$3,616
$5,038
Out-of-state tuition
$10,936
$16,390
Application fee
$25
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,298
$10,668
$30k - $48k
$13,494
$10,920
$48k - $75k
$16,022
$12,679
$75k - $110k
$18,785
$15,901
Over $110k
$19,646
$16,762
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
25%
Freshman retention
59%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,382
$39,624
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,318
$40,863
Median debt at graduation
$15,039
$19,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
43%
First-generation students
38%
36%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University harder to get into?
College of Coastal Georgia is harder to get into. It admits about 98% of applicants, compared with 100% at Middle Georgia State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University?
Middle Georgia State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,361 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,261 at College of Coastal Georgia. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at College of Coastal Georgia and Middle Georgia State University?
Before aid, Middle Georgia State University costs about $19,617 a year and College of Coastal Georgia about $21,924. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University?
Middle Georgia State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,668 there, against about $13,298 at College of Coastal Georgia. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University?
Middle Georgia State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,574 undergraduates against 2,979 at College of Coastal Georgia.
Does College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University have a better graduation rate?
College of Coastal Georgia has the higher graduation rate, at about 26% against 25% at Middle Georgia State University.
Do graduates of College of Coastal Georgia or Middle Georgia State University earn more?
Middle Georgia State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $40,863 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,318 for College of Coastal Georgia. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do College of Coastal Georgia and Middle Georgia State University require SAT or ACT scores?
College of Coastal Georgia considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Middle Georgia State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do College of Coastal Georgia and Middle Georgia State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 875–1100 at College of Coastal Georgia and 950–1190 at Middle Georgia State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school