Skip to content

College of the Ozarks vs Southwest Baptist University

College of the Ozarks is a private college in Point Lookout, MO. Southwest Baptist University is a private university in Bolivar, MO. College of the Ozarks admits about 12% of applicants and Southwest Baptist University about 68%, making College of the Ozarks the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $6,100 a year at College of the Ozarks after aid, and about $21,677 at Southwest Baptist University. About 62% of students graduate at College of the Ozarks, compared with 53% at Southwest Baptist University. Ten years after enrolling, Southwest Baptist University alumni earn a median of about $43,112, against $41,592 for College of the Ozarks.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

College of the Ozarks

Point Lookout, MO · Private

Southwest Baptist University

Bolivar, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Point Lookout, MO
Bolivar, MO
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,444
1,341
Acceptance rate
12%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–4
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
1050–1220
810–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
20–25
17–26
Test policy
Required
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$6,100
$21,677
Full cost / yr
$33,734
$40,301
In-state tuition
$22,320
$30,566
Out-of-state tuition
$22,320
$30,566
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$6,381
$21,978
$30k - $48k
$6,140
$17,947
$48k - $75k
$5,022
$19,633
$75k - $110k
$6,409
$22,016
Over $110k
$10,426
$23,857
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
53%
Freshman retention
90%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,507
$38,855
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,592
$43,112
Median debt at graduation
Not reported
$20,957
Student body
Pell grant recipients
49%
36%
First-generation students
33%
35%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Dec 31
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University harder to get into?
College of the Ozarks is harder to get into. It admits about 12% of applicants, compared with 68% at Southwest Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University?
College of the Ozarks is cheaper on average. Students pay about $6,100 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,677 at Southwest Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at College of the Ozarks and Southwest Baptist University?
Before aid, College of the Ozarks costs about $33,734 a year and Southwest Baptist University about $40,301. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University?
College of the Ozarks. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,381 there, against about $21,978 at Southwest Baptist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University?
College of the Ozarks is the larger of the two, with about 1,444 undergraduates against 1,341 at Southwest Baptist University.
Does College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University have a better graduation rate?
College of the Ozarks has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 53% at Southwest Baptist University.
Do graduates of College of the Ozarks or Southwest Baptist University earn more?
Southwest Baptist University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,112 ten years after enrolling, against about $41,592 for College of the Ozarks. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do College of the Ozarks and Southwest Baptist University require SAT or ACT scores?
College of the Ozarks requires SAT or ACT scores. Southwest Baptist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do College of the Ozarks and Southwest Baptist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1050–1220 at College of the Ozarks and 810–1210 at Southwest Baptist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school