Skip to content

Colorado Mesa University vs Colorado State University Pueblo

What would these two cost your family?

Your family’s income

Pick one to see what families like yours paid at each. Source: College Scorecard.

Colorado Mesa University is a public university in Grand Junction, CO, and Colorado State University Pueblo is a public university in Pueblo, CO. Colorado Mesa University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 82% of applicants against 95% at Colorado State University Pueblo. Colorado State University Pueblo is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,051 a year against $15,103 at Colorado Mesa University. About 41% of students graduate at Colorado Mesa University, compared with 39% at Colorado State University Pueblo. Ten years after enrolling, Colorado State University Pueblo alumni earn a median of about $55,563, against $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Colorado Mesa University

Grand Junction, CO · Public

Colorado State University Pueblo

Pueblo, CO · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Pueblo, CO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,143
3,042
Acceptance rate
82%
95%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.07–3.57
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1160
870–1100
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
19–26
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,103
$10,051
Full cost / yr
$24,046
$23,937
In-state tuition
$9,927
$9,720
Out-of-state tuition
$25,124
$17,944
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,792
$9,374
$30k - $48k
$11,920
$8,948
$48k - $75k
$14,692
$10,961
$75k - $110k
$16,945
$15,701
Over $110k
$20,606
$12,858
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
39%
Freshman retention
79%
64%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,223
$43,053
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,823
$55,563
Median debt at graduation
$22,000
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
29%
First-generation students
39%
41%
International students
2%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo harder to get into?
Colorado Mesa University is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 95% at Colorado State University Pueblo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo?
Colorado State University Pueblo is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,051 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,103 at Colorado Mesa University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Colorado Mesa University and Colorado State University Pueblo?
Before aid, Colorado State University Pueblo costs about $23,937 a year and Colorado Mesa University about $24,046. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo?
Colorado State University Pueblo. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,374 there, against about $10,792 at Colorado Mesa University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo?
Colorado Mesa University is the larger of the two, with about 8,143 undergraduates against 3,042 at Colorado State University Pueblo.
Does Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo have a better graduation rate?
Colorado Mesa University has the higher graduation rate, at about 41% against 39% at Colorado State University Pueblo.
Do graduates of Colorado Mesa University or Colorado State University Pueblo earn more?
Colorado State University Pueblo alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,563 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Colorado Mesa University and Colorado State University Pueblo require SAT or ACT scores?
Colorado Mesa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Colorado State University Pueblo considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Colorado Mesa University and Colorado State University Pueblo look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1160 at Colorado Mesa University and 870–1100 at Colorado State University Pueblo. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school