Skip to content

Colorado Mesa University vs University of Northern Colorado

Colorado Mesa University is a public university in Grand Junction, CO. University of Northern Colorado is a public university in Greeley, CO. Colorado Mesa University admits about 82% of applicants and University of Northern Colorado about 86%, making Colorado Mesa University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,103 a year at Colorado Mesa University after aid, and about $17,760 at University of Northern Colorado. About 51% of students graduate at University of Northern Colorado, compared with 41% at Colorado Mesa University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Northern Colorado alumni earn a median of about $52,231, against $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Colorado Mesa University

Grand Junction, CO · Public

University of Northern Colorado

Greeley, CO · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Greeley, CO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,143
5,598
Acceptance rate
82%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.3–3.8
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1160
950–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
21–26
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,103
$17,760
Full cost / yr
$24,046
$29,254
In-state tuition
$9,927
$12,416
Out-of-state tuition
$25,124
$27,266
Application fee
$40
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,792
$12,695
$30k - $48k
$11,920
$13,290
$48k - $75k
$14,692
$16,038
$75k - $110k
$16,945
$18,441
Over $110k
$20,606
$24,306
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
51%
Freshman retention
79%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,223
$43,756
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,823
$52,231
Median debt at graduation
$22,000
$20,470
Student body
Pell grant recipients
28%
26%
First-generation students
39%
35%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Aug 1
Mar 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado harder to get into?
Colorado Mesa University is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 86% at University of Northern Colorado. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado?
Colorado Mesa University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,103 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,760 at University of Northern Colorado. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Colorado Mesa University and University of Northern Colorado?
Before aid, Colorado Mesa University costs about $24,046 a year and University of Northern Colorado about $29,254. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado?
Colorado Mesa University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,792 there, against about $12,695 at University of Northern Colorado. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado?
Colorado Mesa University is the larger of the two, with about 8,143 undergraduates against 5,598 at University of Northern Colorado.
Does Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado have a better graduation rate?
University of Northern Colorado has the higher graduation rate, at about 51% against 41% at Colorado Mesa University.
Do graduates of Colorado Mesa University or University of Northern Colorado earn more?
University of Northern Colorado alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,231 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Colorado Mesa University and University of Northern Colorado require SAT or ACT scores?
Colorado Mesa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Northern Colorado is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Colorado Mesa University and University of Northern Colorado look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1160 at Colorado Mesa University and 950–1190 at University of Northern Colorado. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school