Skip to content

Columbia College vs Northwest Missouri State University

Columbia College is a private college in Columbia, MO. Northwest Missouri State University is a public university in Maryville, MO. Columbia College admits about 5% of applicants and Northwest Missouri State University about 86%, making Columbia College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,244 a year at Northwest Missouri State University after aid, and about $22,715 at Columbia College. About 56% of students graduate at Northwest Missouri State University, compared with 44% at Columbia College. Ten years after enrolling, Northwest Missouri State University alumni earn a median of about $47,885, against $45,378 for Columbia College.

Columbia College

Columbia, MO · Private

Northwest Missouri State University

Maryville, MO · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Columbia, MO
Maryville, MO
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
4,950
4,378
Acceptance rate
5%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.55–4
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
1510–1560
976–1193
ACT (middle 50%)
34–36
19–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,715
$16,244
Full cost / yr
$37,207
$24,945
In-state tuition
$25,826
$10,611
Out-of-state tuition
$25,826
$17,324
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,967
$13,176
$30k - $48k
$21,168
$13,447
$48k - $75k
$21,550
$13,959
$75k - $110k
$23,015
$17,423
Over $110k
$21,545
$20,796
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
56%
Freshman retention
75%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,747
$41,695
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,378
$47,885
Median debt at graduation
$23,879
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
27%
First-generation students
49%
31%
International students
3%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University harder to get into?
Columbia College is harder to get into. It admits about 5% of applicants, compared with 86% at Northwest Missouri State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University?
Northwest Missouri State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,244 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,715 at Columbia College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Columbia College and Northwest Missouri State University?
Before aid, Northwest Missouri State University costs about $24,945 a year and Columbia College about $37,207. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University?
Northwest Missouri State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,176 there, against about $23,967 at Columbia College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University?
Columbia College is the larger of the two, with about 4,950 undergraduates against 4,378 at Northwest Missouri State University.
Does Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University have a better graduation rate?
Northwest Missouri State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 44% at Columbia College.
Do graduates of Columbia College or Northwest Missouri State University earn more?
Northwest Missouri State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,885 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,378 for Columbia College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Columbia College and Northwest Missouri State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Columbia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Northwest Missouri State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Columbia College and Northwest Missouri State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1510–1560 at Columbia College and 976–1193 at Northwest Missouri State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school