Skip to content

Columbia College vs Rockhurst University

Columbia College is a private college in Columbia, MO, and Rockhurst University is a private university in Kansas City, MO. Columbia College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 5% of applicants against 70% at Rockhurst University. Columbia College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,715 a year against $25,884 at Rockhurst University. About 75% of students graduate at Rockhurst University, compared with 44% at Columbia College. Ten years after enrolling, Rockhurst University alumni earn a median of about $67,102, against $45,378 for Columbia College.

Columbia College

Columbia, MO · Private

Rockhurst University

Kansas City, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Columbia, MO
Kansas City, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
4,950
1,580
Acceptance rate
5%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.55–4
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1510–1560
1116–1246
ACT (middle 50%)
34–36
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,715
$25,884
Full cost / yr
$37,207
$59,898
In-state tuition
$25,826
$44,966
Out-of-state tuition
$25,826
$44,966
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,967
$22,797
$30k - $48k
$21,168
$19,895
$48k - $75k
$21,550
$21,997
$75k - $110k
$23,015
$26,522
Over $110k
$21,545
$30,348
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
75%
Freshman retention
75%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,747
$61,371
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,378
$67,102
Median debt at graduation
$23,879
$18,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
20%
First-generation students
49%
21%
International students
3%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 28

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Columbia College or Rockhurst University harder to get into?
Columbia College is harder to get into. It admits about 5% of applicants, compared with 70% at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Columbia College or Rockhurst University?
Columbia College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,715 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,884 at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Columbia College and Rockhurst University?
Before aid, Columbia College costs about $37,207 a year and Rockhurst University about $59,898. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Columbia College or Rockhurst University?
Rockhurst University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $22,797 there, against about $23,967 at Columbia College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Columbia College or Rockhurst University?
Columbia College is the larger of the two, with about 4,950 undergraduates against 1,580 at Rockhurst University.
Does Columbia College or Rockhurst University have a better graduation rate?
Rockhurst University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 44% at Columbia College.
Do graduates of Columbia College or Rockhurst University earn more?
Rockhurst University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,102 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,378 for Columbia College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Columbia College and Rockhurst University require SAT or ACT scores?
Columbia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rockhurst University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Columbia College and Rockhurst University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1510–1560 at Columbia College and 1116–1246 at Rockhurst University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school