Skip to content

Columbia International University vs Erskine College

Columbia International University is a private university in Columbia, SC. Erskine College is a private college in Due West, SC. Erskine College admits about 63% of applicants and Columbia International University about 94%, making Erskine College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,525 a year at Erskine College after aid, and about $26,036 at Columbia International University. About 55% of students graduate at Columbia International University, compared with 47% at Erskine College. Ten years after enrolling, Erskine College alumni earn a median of about $53,459, against $38,951 for Columbia International University.

Columbia International University

Columbia, SC · Private

Erskine College

Due West, SC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Columbia, SC
Due West, SC
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
716
766
Acceptance rate
94%
63%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.14–3.64
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
990–1195
920–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
16–25
17–23
Test policy
Test blind
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,036
$16,525
Full cost / yr
$43,045
$55,248
In-state tuition
$27,900
$36,710
Out-of-state tuition
$27,900
$36,710
Application fee
$25
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,955
$14,555
$30k - $48k
$25,644
$12,666
$48k - $75k
$23,535
$18,652
$75k - $110k
$28,722
$16,405
Over $110k
$29,751
$18,942
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
47%
Freshman retention
53%
56%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,929
$39,618
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,951
$53,459
Median debt at graduation
$20,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
47%
First-generation students
24%
22%
International students
5%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Columbia International University or Erskine College harder to get into?
Erskine College is harder to get into. It admits about 63% of applicants, compared with 94% at Columbia International University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Columbia International University or Erskine College?
Erskine College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,525 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,036 at Columbia International University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Columbia International University and Erskine College?
Before aid, Columbia International University costs about $43,045 a year and Erskine College about $55,248. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Columbia International University or Erskine College?
Erskine College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,555 there, against about $21,955 at Columbia International University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Columbia International University or Erskine College?
Erskine College is the larger of the two, with about 766 undergraduates against 716 at Columbia International University.
Does Columbia International University or Erskine College have a better graduation rate?
Columbia International University has the higher graduation rate, at about 55% against 47% at Erskine College.
Do graduates of Columbia International University or Erskine College earn more?
Erskine College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,459 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,951 for Columbia International University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Columbia International University and Erskine College require SAT or ACT scores?
Columbia International University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Erskine College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Columbia International University and Erskine College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 990–1195 at Columbia International University and 920–1150 at Erskine College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school