Skip to content

Columbus College of Art & Design vs Shawnee State University

Columbus College of Art & Design is a private college in Columbus, OH. Shawnee State University is a public university in Portsmouth, OH. Columbus College of Art & Design admits about 68% of applicants and Shawnee State University about 72%, making Columbus College of Art & Design the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,381 a year at Shawnee State University after aid, and about $29,439 at Columbus College of Art & Design. About 59% of students graduate at Columbus College of Art & Design, compared with 45% at Shawnee State University. Ten years after enrolling, Columbus College of Art & Design alumni earn a median of about $40,664, against $39,596 for Shawnee State University.

Columbus College of Art & Design

Columbus, OH · Private

Shawnee State University

Portsmouth, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Columbus, OH
Portsmouth, OH
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
882
2,247
Acceptance rate
68%
72%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.36–3.86
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1220
890–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$29,439
$14,381
Full cost / yr
$54,443
$21,974
In-state tuition
$40,825
$10,626
Out-of-state tuition
$40,825
$17,358
Application fee
$50
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$24,204
$12,310
$30k - $48k
$27,218
$11,956
$48k - $75k
$27,534
$14,326
$75k - $110k
$29,717
$16,787
Over $110k
$33,114
$18,754
Outcomes
Graduation rate
59%
45%
Freshman retention
80%
72%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,590
$35,080
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,664
$39,596
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
39%
First-generation students
25%
43%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University harder to get into?
Columbus College of Art & Design is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 72% at Shawnee State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University?
Shawnee State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,381 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,439 at Columbus College of Art & Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Columbus College of Art & Design and Shawnee State University?
Before aid, Shawnee State University costs about $21,974 a year and Columbus College of Art & Design about $54,443. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University?
Shawnee State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,310 there, against about $24,204 at Columbus College of Art & Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University?
Shawnee State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,247 undergraduates against 882 at Columbus College of Art & Design.
Does Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University have a better graduation rate?
Columbus College of Art & Design has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 45% at Shawnee State University.
Do graduates of Columbus College of Art & Design or Shawnee State University earn more?
Columbus College of Art & Design alumni earn more on average: a median of about $40,664 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,596 for Shawnee State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Columbus College of Art & Design and Shawnee State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Columbus College of Art & Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Shawnee State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Columbus College of Art & Design and Shawnee State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1220 at Columbus College of Art & Design and 890–1180 at Shawnee State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school