Skip to content

Concordia College at Moorhead vs Minnesota State University Moorhead

Concordia College at Moorhead is a private college in Moorhead, MN, and Minnesota State University Moorhead is a public university in Moorhead, MN. Minnesota State University Moorhead is the more selective of the two, admitting about 59% of applicants against 63% at Concordia College at Moorhead. Minnesota State University Moorhead is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $17,997 a year against $24,902 at Concordia College at Moorhead. About 66% of students graduate at Concordia College at Moorhead, compared with 56% at Minnesota State University Moorhead. Ten years after enrolling, Concordia College at Moorhead alumni earn a median of about $59,317, against $50,527 for Minnesota State University Moorhead.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Concordia College at Moorhead

Moorhead, MN · Private

Minnesota State University Moorhead

Moorhead, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Moorhead, MN
Moorhead, MN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,829
3,072
Acceptance rate
63%
59%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
1160–1420
1080–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
21–26
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,902
$17,997
Full cost / yr
$45,942
$25,197
In-state tuition
$31,170
$10,428
Out-of-state tuition
$31,170
$10,428
Application fee
$0
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,950
$11,129
$30k - $48k
$18,889
$11,547
$48k - $75k
$20,115
$13,907
$75k - $110k
$23,045
$18,644
Over $110k
$28,435
$22,420
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
56%
Freshman retention
84%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,225
$45,873
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,317
$50,527
Median debt at graduation
$26,847
$20,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
28%
First-generation students
13%
20%
International students
6%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead harder to get into?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is harder to get into. It admits about 59% of applicants, compared with 63% at Concordia College at Moorhead. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,997 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,902 at Concordia College at Moorhead. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concordia College at Moorhead and Minnesota State University Moorhead?
Before aid, Minnesota State University Moorhead costs about $25,197 a year and Concordia College at Moorhead about $45,942. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead?
Minnesota State University Moorhead. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,129 there, against about $20,950 at Concordia College at Moorhead. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead?
Minnesota State University Moorhead is the larger of the two, with about 3,072 undergraduates against 1,829 at Concordia College at Moorhead.
Does Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead have a better graduation rate?
Concordia College at Moorhead has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 56% at Minnesota State University Moorhead.
Do graduates of Concordia College at Moorhead or Minnesota State University Moorhead earn more?
Concordia College at Moorhead alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,317 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,527 for Minnesota State University Moorhead. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concordia College at Moorhead and Minnesota State University Moorhead require SAT or ACT scores?
Concordia College at Moorhead is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Minnesota State University Moorhead is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Concordia College at Moorhead and Minnesota State University Moorhead look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1160–1420 at Concordia College at Moorhead and 1080–1290 at Minnesota State University Moorhead. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school