Skip to content

Concordia College at Moorhead vs Southwest Minnesota State University

Concordia College at Moorhead is a private college in Moorhead, MN, and Southwest Minnesota State University is a public university in Marshall, MN. Southwest Minnesota State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 62% of applicants against 63% at Concordia College at Moorhead. Southwest Minnesota State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,291 a year against $24,902 at Concordia College at Moorhead. About 66% of students graduate at Concordia College at Moorhead, compared with 45% at Southwest Minnesota State University. Ten years after enrolling, Concordia College at Moorhead alumni earn a median of about $59,317, against $51,342 for Southwest Minnesota State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Concordia College at Moorhead

Moorhead, MN · Private

Southwest Minnesota State University

Marshall, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Moorhead, MN
Marshall, MN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,829
2,315
Acceptance rate
63%
62%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1160–1420
935–1102
ACT (middle 50%)
21–26
16–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,902
$15,291
Full cost / yr
$45,942
$24,757
In-state tuition
$31,170
$10,361
Out-of-state tuition
$31,170
$10,361
Application fee
$0
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,950
$10,559
$30k - $48k
$18,889
$11,175
$48k - $75k
$20,115
$13,153
$75k - $110k
$23,045
$18,283
Over $110k
$28,435
$20,701
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
45%
Freshman retention
84%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,225
$43,282
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,317
$51,342
Median debt at graduation
$26,847
$20,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
12%
First-generation students
13%
27%
International students
6%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University harder to get into?
Southwest Minnesota State University is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 63% at Concordia College at Moorhead. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University?
Southwest Minnesota State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,291 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,902 at Concordia College at Moorhead. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concordia College at Moorhead and Southwest Minnesota State University?
Before aid, Southwest Minnesota State University costs about $24,757 a year and Concordia College at Moorhead about $45,942. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University?
Southwest Minnesota State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,559 there, against about $20,950 at Concordia College at Moorhead. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University?
Southwest Minnesota State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,315 undergraduates against 1,829 at Concordia College at Moorhead.
Does Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University have a better graduation rate?
Concordia College at Moorhead has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 45% at Southwest Minnesota State University.
Do graduates of Concordia College at Moorhead or Southwest Minnesota State University earn more?
Concordia College at Moorhead alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,317 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,342 for Southwest Minnesota State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concordia College at Moorhead and Southwest Minnesota State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Concordia College at Moorhead is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southwest Minnesota State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Concordia College at Moorhead and Southwest Minnesota State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1160–1420 at Concordia College at Moorhead and 935–1102 at Southwest Minnesota State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school