Skip to content

Concordia University-Chicago vs Rockford University

Concordia University-Chicago is a private university in River Forest, IL, and Rockford University is a private university in Rockford, IL. Both admit about 93% of applicants. Concordia University-Chicago is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,436 a year against $22,436 at Rockford University. About 43% of students graduate at Rockford University, compared with 41% at Concordia University-Chicago. Ten years after enrolling, Rockford University alumni earn a median of about $54,794, against $54,089 for Concordia University-Chicago.

Concordia University-Chicago

River Forest, IL · Private

Rockford University

Rockford, IL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
River Forest, IL
Rockford, IL
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,323
972
Acceptance rate
93%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.17–3.67
3.1–3.6
SAT (middle 50%)
990–1180
850–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,436
$22,436
Full cost / yr
$45,383
$49,169
In-state tuition
$37,488
$37,780
Out-of-state tuition
$37,488
$37,780
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,795
$20,877
$30k - $48k
$16,397
$20,841
$48k - $75k
$15,768
$22,987
$75k - $110k
$20,046
$21,229
Over $110k
$23,907
$27,097
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
43%
Freshman retention
61%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,405
$45,847
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,089
$54,794
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$22,274
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
48%
First-generation students
39%
42%
International students
1%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 93% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University?
Concordia University-Chicago is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,436 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,436 at Rockford University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concordia University-Chicago and Rockford University?
Before aid, Concordia University-Chicago costs about $45,383 a year and Rockford University about $49,169. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University?
Concordia University-Chicago. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,795 there, against about $20,877 at Rockford University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University?
Concordia University-Chicago is the larger of the two, with about 1,323 undergraduates against 972 at Rockford University.
Does Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University have a better graduation rate?
Rockford University has the higher graduation rate, at about 43% against 41% at Concordia University-Chicago.
Do graduates of Concordia University-Chicago or Rockford University earn more?
Rockford University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,794 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,089 for Concordia University-Chicago. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concordia University-Chicago and Rockford University require SAT or ACT scores?
Concordia University-Chicago is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rockford University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Concordia University-Chicago and Rockford University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 990–1180 at Concordia University-Chicago and 850–1070 at Rockford University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school