Skip to content

Concordia University-Wisconsin vs University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Concordia University-Wisconsin is a private university in Mequon, WI, and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is a public university in Eau Claire, WI. Concordia University-Wisconsin is the more selective of the two, admitting about 78% of applicants against 82% at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,550 a year against $36,201 at Concordia University-Wisconsin. About 66% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire alumni earn a median of about $58,561, against $56,075 for Concordia University-Wisconsin.

Concordia University-Wisconsin

Mequon, WI · Private

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Eau Claire, WI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Mequon, WI
Eau Claire, WI
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,197
8,895
Acceptance rate
78%
82%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.48–3.98
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1220
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
22–28
22–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$36,201
$16,550
Full cost / yr
$53,315
$21,705
In-state tuition
$35,470
$9,642
Out-of-state tuition
$35,470
$19,228
Application fee
$0
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$34,991
$10,270
$30k - $48k
$31,070
$10,968
$48k - $75k
$32,747
$12,766
$75k - $110k
$36,336
$18,278
Over $110k
$38,595
$20,778
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
66%
Freshman retention
78%
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,761
$50,011
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,075
$58,561
Median debt at graduation
$25,750
$20,909
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
20%
First-generation students
32%
22%
International students
3%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire harder to get into?
Concordia University-Wisconsin is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 82% at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,550 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $36,201 at Concordia University-Wisconsin. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concordia University-Wisconsin and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
Before aid, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire costs about $21,705 a year and Concordia University-Wisconsin about $53,315. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,270 there, against about $34,991 at Concordia University-Wisconsin. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the larger of the two, with about 8,895 undergraduates against 2,197 at Concordia University-Wisconsin.
Does Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 66% of their students.
Do graduates of Concordia University-Wisconsin or University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire earn more?
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,561 ten years after enrolling, against about $56,075 for Concordia University-Wisconsin. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concordia University-Wisconsin and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire require SAT or ACT scores?
Concordia University-Wisconsin is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school