Skip to content

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice vs Davis College

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is a public college in New York, NY. Davis College is a private college in Pottersville, NY. Davis College admits about 56% of applicants and CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice about 57%, making Davis College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $3,203 a year at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice after aid, and about $12,875 at Davis College. About 56% of students graduate at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, compared with 33% at Davis College. Ten years after enrolling, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice alumni earn a median of about $56,195, against $38,450 for Davis College.

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice

New York, NY · Public

Davis College

Pottersville, NY · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
New York, NY
Pottersville, NY
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
11,590
106
Acceptance rate
57%
56%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.6–4
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1220
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
21–25
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$3,203
$12,875
Full cost / yr
$14,212
$24,830
In-state tuition
$7,470
$18,000
Out-of-state tuition
$15,420
$18,000
Application fee
$65
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$1,073
$12,875
$30k - $48k
$2,506
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$6,760
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$8,427
Not reported
Over $110k
$13,292
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
33%
Freshman retention
82%
100%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,293
$29,943
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,195
$38,450
Median debt at graduation
$11,000
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
60%
40%
First-generation students
48%
27%
International students
4%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College harder to get into?
Davis College is harder to get into. It admits about 56% of applicants, compared with 57% at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,203 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $12,875 at Davis College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice and Davis College?
Before aid, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice costs about $14,212 a year and Davis College about $24,830. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,073 there, against about $12,875 at Davis College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is the larger of the two, with about 11,590 undergraduates against 106 at Davis College.
Does CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College have a better graduation rate?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 33% at Davis College.
Do graduates of CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice or Davis College earn more?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,195 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,450 for Davis College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice and Davis College require SAT or ACT scores?
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Davis College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school