Skip to content

Dakota State University vs South Dakota State University

Dakota State University is a public university in Madison, SD, and South Dakota State University is a public university in Brookings, SD. Dakota State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 98% at South Dakota State University. South Dakota State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,841 a year against $21,057 at Dakota State University. About 61% of students graduate at South Dakota State University, compared with 50% at Dakota State University. Ten years after enrolling, South Dakota State University alumni earn a median of about $55,070, against $50,970 for Dakota State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Dakota State University

Madison, SD · Public

South Dakota State University

Brookings, SD · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Madison, SD
Brookings, SD
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,071
9,198
Acceptance rate
88%
98%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
1190–1440
1060–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
20–27
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$21,057
$19,841
Full cost / yr
$25,753
$24,636
In-state tuition
$9,654
$9,299
Out-of-state tuition
$12,756
$12,809
Application fee
$20
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,317
$14,266
$30k - $48k
$18,792
$15,248
$48k - $75k
$19,165
$18,073
$75k - $110k
$22,601
$20,706
Over $110k
$23,269
$21,886
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
61%
Freshman retention
75%
84%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,146
$49,564
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,970
$55,070
Median debt at graduation
$23,500
$23,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
17%
17%
First-generation students
28%
20%
International students
6%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Dakota State University or South Dakota State University harder to get into?
Dakota State University is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 98% at South Dakota State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Dakota State University or South Dakota State University?
South Dakota State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,841 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,057 at Dakota State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Dakota State University and South Dakota State University?
Before aid, South Dakota State University costs about $24,636 a year and Dakota State University about $25,753. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Dakota State University or South Dakota State University?
South Dakota State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,266 there, against about $17,317 at Dakota State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Dakota State University or South Dakota State University?
South Dakota State University is the larger of the two, with about 9,198 undergraduates against 2,071 at Dakota State University.
Does Dakota State University or South Dakota State University have a better graduation rate?
South Dakota State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 50% at Dakota State University.
Do graduates of Dakota State University or South Dakota State University earn more?
South Dakota State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,070 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,970 for Dakota State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Dakota State University and South Dakota State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Dakota State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. South Dakota State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Dakota State University and South Dakota State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1190–1440 at Dakota State University and 1060–1240 at South Dakota State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school