Skip to content

Dakota Wesleyan University vs South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Dakota Wesleyan University is a private university in Mitchell, SD, and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is a public university in Rapid City, SD. Dakota Wesleyan University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 73% of applicants against 80% at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Dakota Wesleyan University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,735 a year against $20,183 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. About 56% of students graduate at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, compared with 47% at Dakota Wesleyan University. Ten years after enrolling, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology alumni earn a median of about $72,257, against $53,728 for Dakota Wesleyan University.

Dakota Wesleyan University

Mitchell, SD · Private

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Rapid City, SD · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Mitchell, SD
Rapid City, SD
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
670
2,071
Acceptance rate
73%
80%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1420
1140–1340
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
24–30
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,735
$20,183
Full cost / yr
$43,864
$25,385
In-state tuition
$33,790
$10,500
Out-of-state tuition
$33,790
$14,900
Application fee
Not reported
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,251
$15,348
$30k - $48k
$15,750
$17,909
$48k - $75k
$15,927
$18,366
$75k - $110k
$19,048
$21,176
Over $110k
$22,416
$21,993
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
56%
Freshman retention
75%
84%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,432
$62,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,728
$72,257
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
17%
First-generation students
29%
18%
International students
3%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology harder to get into?
Dakota Wesleyan University is harder to get into. It admits about 73% of applicants, compared with 80% at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology?
Dakota Wesleyan University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,735 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,183 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Dakota Wesleyan University and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology?
Before aid, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology costs about $25,385 a year and Dakota Wesleyan University about $43,864. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology?
Dakota Wesleyan University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,251 there, against about $15,348 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology?
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is the larger of the two, with about 2,071 undergraduates against 670 at Dakota Wesleyan University.
Does Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology have a better graduation rate?
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 47% at Dakota Wesleyan University.
Do graduates of Dakota Wesleyan University or South Dakota School of Mines and Technology earn more?
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology alumni earn more on average: a median of about $72,257 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,728 for Dakota Wesleyan University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Dakota Wesleyan University and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology require SAT or ACT scores?
Dakota Wesleyan University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. South Dakota School of Mines and Technology considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Dakota Wesleyan University and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1420 at Dakota Wesleyan University and 1140–1340 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school