Skip to content

Davis & Elkins College vs West Virginia University

Davis & Elkins College is a private college in Elkins, WV, and West Virginia University is a public university in Morgantown, WV. West Virginia University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 94% at Davis & Elkins College. West Virginia University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,634 a year against $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. About 63% of students graduate at West Virginia University, compared with 38% at Davis & Elkins College. Ten years after enrolling, West Virginia University alumni earn a median of about $55,939, against $43,411 for Davis & Elkins College.

Davis & Elkins College

Elkins, WV · Private

West Virginia University

Morgantown, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Elkins, WV
Morgantown, WV
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
661
17,385
Acceptance rate
94%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.14–3.64
3.3–3.8
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1125
1010–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
1–14
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,273
$15,634
Full cost / yr
$44,888
$26,415
In-state tuition
$31,820
$10,104
Out-of-state tuition
$31,820
$28,608
Application fee
Not reported
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,999
$9,450
$30k - $48k
$17,005
$12,501
$48k - $75k
$15,690
$14,179
$75k - $110k
$19,465
$18,710
Over $110k
$22,496
$20,273
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
63%
Freshman retention
65%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,495
$45,181
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,411
$55,939
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
22%
First-generation students
48%
30%
International students
15%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University harder to get into?
West Virginia University is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 94% at Davis & Elkins College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University?
West Virginia University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,634 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Davis & Elkins College and West Virginia University?
Before aid, West Virginia University costs about $26,415 a year and Davis & Elkins College about $44,888. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University?
West Virginia University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,450 there, against about $15,999 at Davis & Elkins College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University?
West Virginia University is the larger of the two, with about 17,385 undergraduates against 661 at Davis & Elkins College.
Does Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University have a better graduation rate?
West Virginia University has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 38% at Davis & Elkins College.
Do graduates of Davis & Elkins College or West Virginia University earn more?
West Virginia University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,939 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,411 for Davis & Elkins College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Davis & Elkins College and West Virginia University require SAT or ACT scores?
Davis & Elkins College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. West Virginia University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Davis & Elkins College and West Virginia University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1125 at Davis & Elkins College and 1010–1220 at West Virginia University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school