Skip to content

Delta State University vs Jackson State University

Delta State University is a public university in Cleveland, MS, and Jackson State University is a public university in Jackson, MS. Jackson State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 93% of applicants against 100% at Delta State University. Delta State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,540 a year against $23,836 at Jackson State University. About 47% of students graduate at Delta State University, compared with 41% at Jackson State University. Ten years after enrolling, Delta State University alumni earn a median of about $41,991, against $39,060 for Jackson State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Delta State University

Cleveland, MS · Public

Jackson State University

Jackson, MS · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Cleveland, MS
Jackson, MS
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,620
4,600
Acceptance rate
100%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.1–3.6
SAT (middle 50%)
925–1210
820–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
15–20
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,540
$23,836
Full cost / yr
$22,445
$32,415
In-state tuition
$8,605
$8,965
Out-of-state tuition
$8,605
$11,965
Application fee
$25
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,223
$22,869
$30k - $48k
$10,615
$22,516
$48k - $75k
$10,625
$26,236
$75k - $110k
$17,170
$26,388
Over $110k
$16,950
$27,576
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
41%
Freshman retention
67%
62%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,265
$30,530
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,991
$39,060
Median debt at graduation
$20,390
$30,470
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
72%
First-generation students
32%
32%
International students
5%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Delta State University or Jackson State University harder to get into?
Jackson State University is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 100% at Delta State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Delta State University or Jackson State University?
Delta State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,540 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,836 at Jackson State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Delta State University and Jackson State University?
Before aid, Delta State University costs about $22,445 a year and Jackson State University about $32,415. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Delta State University or Jackson State University?
Delta State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,223 there, against about $22,869 at Jackson State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Delta State University or Jackson State University?
Jackson State University is the larger of the two, with about 4,600 undergraduates against 1,620 at Delta State University.
Does Delta State University or Jackson State University have a better graduation rate?
Delta State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 47% against 41% at Jackson State University.
Do graduates of Delta State University or Jackson State University earn more?
Delta State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $41,991 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,060 for Jackson State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Delta State University and Jackson State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Delta State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Jackson State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Delta State University and Jackson State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 925–1210 at Delta State University and 820–1070 at Jackson State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school