Design Institute of San Diego vs Lionel University
Design Institute of San Diego is a private for-profit institute in San Diego, CA. Lionel University is a private for-profit university in Carpinteria, CA. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $29,453 a year at Lionel University after aid, and about $44,010 at Design Institute of San Diego.
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Private (for-profit)
Location
San Diego, CA
Carpinteria, CA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
77
370
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$44,010
$29,453
Full cost / yr
$55,911
$31,812
In-state tuition
$29,300
$15,265
Out-of-state tuition
$29,300
$15,265
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
Not reported
$29,817
$30k - $48k
Not reported
$27,635
$48k - $75k
$44,010
Not reported
$75k - $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Over $110k
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
Not reported
52%
Freshman retention
0%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,916
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,920
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$36,844
$12,668
Student body
Pell grant recipients
51%
45%
First-generation students
Not reported
47%
International students
4%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Rolling
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Design Institute of San Diego or Lionel University harder to get into?
- They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is cheaper, Design Institute of San Diego or Lionel University?
- Lionel University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $29,453 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $44,010 at Design Institute of San Diego. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- What is the full cost of attendance at Design Institute of San Diego and Lionel University?
- Before aid, Lionel University costs about $31,812 a year and Design Institute of San Diego about $55,911. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
- Which is bigger, Design Institute of San Diego or Lionel University?
- Lionel University is the larger of the two, with about 370 undergraduates against 77 at Design Institute of San Diego.
- Do Design Institute of San Diego and Lionel University require SAT or ACT scores?
- Design Institute of San Diego is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Lionel University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
Related comparisons
Design Institute of San Diego vs California Institute of TechnologyDesign Institute of San Diego vs Minerva UniversityDesign Institute of San Diego vs Harvey Mudd CollegeLionel University vs California Institute of TechnologyLionel University vs Minerva UniversityLionel University vs Harvey Mudd College
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school