Skip to content

Dillard University vs Grambling State University

Dillard University is a private university in New Orleans, LA. Grambling State University is a public university in Grambling, LA. Dillard University admits about 42% of applicants and Grambling State University about 45%, making Dillard University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,809 a year at Grambling State University after aid, and about $22,094 at Dillard University. About 44% of students graduate at Dillard University, compared with 34% at Grambling State University. Ten years after enrolling, Grambling State University alumni earn a median of about $41,109, against $39,196 for Dillard University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Dillard University

New Orleans, LA · Private

Grambling State University

Grambling, LA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
New Orleans, LA
Grambling, LA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,063
4,164
Acceptance rate
42%
45%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–4
3.3–4
SAT (middle 50%)
968–1202
920–1080
ACT (middle 50%)
18–22
15–19
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,094
$19,809
Full cost / yr
$39,202
$25,367
In-state tuition
$23,918
$7,683
Out-of-state tuition
$23,918
$16,706
Application fee
$40
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,819
$18,666
$30k - $48k
$21,094
$19,007
$48k - $75k
$23,224
$21,743
$75k - $110k
$26,032
$24,525
Over $110k
$27,019
$25,310
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
34%
Freshman retention
78%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$28,507
$25,589
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,196
$41,109
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$36,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
70%
75%
First-generation students
35%
39%
International students
3%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Dillard University or Grambling State University harder to get into?
Dillard University is harder to get into. It admits about 42% of applicants, compared with 45% at Grambling State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Dillard University or Grambling State University?
Grambling State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,809 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,094 at Dillard University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Dillard University and Grambling State University?
Before aid, Grambling State University costs about $25,367 a year and Dillard University about $39,202. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Dillard University or Grambling State University?
Grambling State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,666 there, against about $19,819 at Dillard University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Dillard University or Grambling State University?
Grambling State University is the larger of the two, with about 4,164 undergraduates against 1,063 at Dillard University.
Does Dillard University or Grambling State University have a better graduation rate?
Dillard University has the higher graduation rate, at about 44% against 34% at Grambling State University.
Do graduates of Dillard University or Grambling State University earn more?
Grambling State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $41,109 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,196 for Dillard University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Dillard University and Grambling State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Dillard University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Grambling State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Dillard University and Grambling State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 968–1202 at Dillard University and 920–1080 at Grambling State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school