Skip to content

Doane University vs University of Nebraska at Kearney

Doane University is a private university in Crete, NE. University of Nebraska at Kearney is a public university in Kearney, NE. University of Nebraska at Kearney admits about 89% of applicants and Doane University about 98%, making University of Nebraska at Kearney the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,242 a year at University of Nebraska at Kearney after aid, and about $26,364 at Doane University. About 59% of students graduate at University of Nebraska at Kearney, compared with 56% at Doane University. Ten years after enrolling, Doane University alumni earn a median of about $53,316, against $50,105 for University of Nebraska at Kearney.

Doane University

Crete, NE · Private

University of Nebraska at Kearney

Kearney, NE · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Crete, NE
Kearney, NE
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
978
4,088
Acceptance rate
98%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
905–1125
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
19–26
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,364
$16,242
Full cost / yr
$57,836
$25,808
In-state tuition
$43,985
$8,676
Out-of-state tuition
$43,985
$15,284
Application fee
Not reported
$45
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,129
$13,066
$30k - $48k
$24,188
$13,350
$48k - $75k
$24,225
$14,547
$75k - $110k
$26,122
$16,703
Over $110k
$29,410
$20,664
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
59%
Freshman retention
79%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,009
$43,241
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,316
$50,105
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
37%
First-generation students
30%
34%
International students
6%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 30

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney harder to get into?
University of Nebraska at Kearney is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 98% at Doane University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney?
University of Nebraska at Kearney is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,242 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,364 at Doane University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Doane University and University of Nebraska at Kearney?
Before aid, University of Nebraska at Kearney costs about $25,808 a year and Doane University about $57,836. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney?
University of Nebraska at Kearney. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,066 there, against about $21,129 at Doane University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney?
University of Nebraska at Kearney is the larger of the two, with about 4,088 undergraduates against 978 at Doane University.
Does Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney have a better graduation rate?
University of Nebraska at Kearney has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 56% at Doane University.
Do graduates of Doane University or University of Nebraska at Kearney earn more?
Doane University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,316 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,105 for University of Nebraska at Kearney. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Doane University and University of Nebraska at Kearney require SAT or ACT scores?
Doane University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of Nebraska at Kearney is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school