Skip to content

Doane University vs University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Doane University is a private university in Crete, NE, and University of Nebraska-Lincoln is a public university in Lincoln, NE. University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the more selective of the two, admitting about 87% of applicants against 98% at Doane University. University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $17,747 a year against $26,364 at Doane University. About 66% of students graduate at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, compared with 56% at Doane University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn a median of about $56,887, against $53,316 for Doane University.

Doane University

Crete, NE · Private

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Lincoln, NE · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Crete, NE
Lincoln, NE
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
978
19,178
Acceptance rate
98%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1098–1330
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
22–28
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,364
$17,747
Full cost / yr
$57,836
$26,697
In-state tuition
$43,985
$10,434
Out-of-state tuition
$43,985
$28,584
Application fee
Not reported
$45
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,129
$12,751
$30k - $48k
$24,188
$13,054
$48k - $75k
$24,225
$14,699
$75k - $110k
$26,122
$18,975
Over $110k
$29,410
$22,346
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
66%
Freshman retention
79%
86%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,009
$47,692
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,316
$56,887
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
23%
First-generation students
30%
22%
International students
6%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln harder to get into?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 98% at Doane University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,747 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,364 at Doane University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Doane University and University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
Before aid, University of Nebraska-Lincoln costs about $26,697 a year and Doane University about $57,836. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,751 there, against about $21,129 at Doane University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the larger of the two, with about 19,178 undergraduates against 978 at Doane University.
Does Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln have a better graduation rate?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 56% at Doane University.
Do graduates of Doane University or University of Nebraska-Lincoln earn more?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,887 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,316 for Doane University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Doane University and University of Nebraska-Lincoln require SAT or ACT scores?
Doane University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of Nebraska-Lincoln considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school