Skip to content

Drake University vs Wartburg College

Drake University is a private university in Des Moines, IA, and Wartburg College is a private college in Waverly, IA. Drake University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 64% of applicants against 76% at Wartburg College. Drake University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $29,127 a year against $32,908 at Wartburg College. About 76% of students graduate at Drake University, compared with 66% at Wartburg College. Ten years after enrolling, Drake University alumni earn a median of about $71,901, against $56,201 for Wartburg College.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Drake University

Des Moines, IA · Private

Wartburg College

Waverly, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Des Moines, IA
Waverly, IA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,543
1,452
Acceptance rate
64%
76%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
1110–1350
930–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
24–29
21–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$29,127
$32,908
Full cost / yr
$64,835
$64,359
In-state tuition
$52,130
$26,250
Out-of-state tuition
$52,130
$26,250
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$25,824
$21,688
$30k - $48k
$23,275
$20,751
$48k - $75k
$25,171
$27,056
$75k - $110k
$27,408
$28,873
Over $110k
$33,126
$38,864
Outcomes
Graduation rate
76%
66%
Freshman retention
84%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$58,233
$48,795
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,901
$56,201
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
22%
First-generation students
15%
17%
International students
4%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Drake University or Wartburg College harder to get into?
Drake University is harder to get into. It admits about 64% of applicants, compared with 76% at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Drake University or Wartburg College?
Drake University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $29,127 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,908 at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Drake University and Wartburg College?
Before aid, Wartburg College costs about $64,359 a year and Drake University about $64,835. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Drake University or Wartburg College?
Wartburg College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $21,688 there, against about $25,824 at Drake University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Drake University or Wartburg College?
Drake University is the larger of the two, with about 2,543 undergraduates against 1,452 at Wartburg College.
Does Drake University or Wartburg College have a better graduation rate?
Drake University has the higher graduation rate, at about 76% against 66% at Wartburg College.
Do graduates of Drake University or Wartburg College earn more?
Drake University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,901 ten years after enrolling, against about $56,201 for Wartburg College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Drake University and Wartburg College require SAT or ACT scores?
Drake University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wartburg College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Drake University and Wartburg College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1110–1350 at Drake University and 930–1200 at Wartburg College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school