Skip to content

D'Youville University vs New York Institute of Technology

D'Youville University is a private university in Buffalo, NY. New York Institute of Technology is a private institute in Old Westbury, NY. Both admit about 81% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $20,433 a year at D'Youville University after aid, and about $22,443 at New York Institute of Technology. About 62% of students graduate at D'Youville University, compared with 58% at New York Institute of Technology. Ten years after enrolling, New York Institute of Technology alumni earn a median of about $70,080, against $66,942 for D'Youville University.

D'Youville University

Buffalo, NY · Private

New York Institute of Technology

Old Westbury, NY · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Buffalo, NY
Old Westbury, NY
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,258
3,440
Acceptance rate
81%
81%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.48–3.98
SAT (middle 50%)
995–1220
1190–1420
ACT (middle 50%)
18–27
24–32
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,433
$22,443
Full cost / yr
$48,539
$56,976
In-state tuition
$34,940
$46,560
Out-of-state tuition
$34,940
$46,560
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,259
$17,084
$30k - $48k
$15,826
$18,312
$48k - $75k
$19,722
$22,592
$75k - $110k
$24,476
$27,226
Over $110k
$27,794
$30,396
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
58%
Freshman retention
73%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$63,804
$52,559
Median earnings (10 yr)
$66,942
$70,080
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$23,334
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
45%
First-generation students
27%
33%
International students
7%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 81% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology?
D'Youville University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,433 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,443 at New York Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at D'Youville University and New York Institute of Technology?
Before aid, D'Youville University costs about $48,539 a year and New York Institute of Technology about $56,976. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology?
D'Youville University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,259 there, against about $17,084 at New York Institute of Technology. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology?
New York Institute of Technology is the larger of the two, with about 3,440 undergraduates against 1,258 at D'Youville University.
Does D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology have a better graduation rate?
D'Youville University has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 58% at New York Institute of Technology.
Do graduates of D'Youville University or New York Institute of Technology earn more?
New York Institute of Technology alumni earn more on average: a median of about $70,080 ten years after enrolling, against about $66,942 for D'Youville University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do D'Youville University and New York Institute of Technology require SAT or ACT scores?
D'Youville University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. New York Institute of Technology considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do D'Youville University and New York Institute of Technology look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 995–1220 at D'Youville University and 1190–1420 at New York Institute of Technology. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school