Skip to content

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus vs New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is a public university in Portales, NM, and New Mexico State University-Main Campus is a public university in Las Cruces, NM. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 92% at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus. Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $4,904 a year against $8,889 at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. About 54% of students graduate at New Mexico State University-Main Campus, compared with 42% at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus. Ten years after enrolling, New Mexico State University-Main Campus alumni earn a median of about $39,067, against $38,550 for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Portales, NM · Public

New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Las Cruces, NM · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Portales, NM
Las Cruces, NM
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
3,357
11,946
Acceptance rate
92%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.18–3.68
SAT (middle 50%)
830–1060
870–1110
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$4,904
$8,889
Full cost / yr
$18,940
$23,274
In-state tuition
$7,194
$8,183
Out-of-state tuition
$9,174
$25,307
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,663
$6,648
$30k - $48k
$3,080
$7,424
$48k - $75k
$5,960
$9,861
$75k - $110k
$8,388
$13,146
Over $110k
$9,996
$14,049
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
54%
Freshman retention
62%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,619
$32,960
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,550
$39,067
Median debt at graduation
$16,500
$17,095
Student body
Pell grant recipients
36%
38%
First-generation students
46%
44%
International students
3%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus harder to get into?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 92% at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus?
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $4,904 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $8,889 at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus and New Mexico State University-Main Campus?
Before aid, Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus costs about $18,940 a year and New Mexico State University-Main Campus about $23,274. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus?
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,663 there, against about $6,648 at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 11,946 undergraduates against 3,357 at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.
Does Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus have a better graduation rate?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 42% at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.
Do graduates of Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus or New Mexico State University-Main Campus earn more?
New Mexico State University-Main Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $39,067 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,550 for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus and New Mexico State University-Main Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus and New Mexico State University-Main Campus look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–1060 at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus and 870–1110 at New Mexico State University-Main Campus. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school