Skip to content

Eastern Oregon University vs Portland State University

Eastern Oregon University is a public university in La Grande, OR. Portland State University is a public university in Portland, OR. Portland State University admits about 91% of applicants and Eastern Oregon University about 98%, making Portland State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,552 a year at Portland State University after aid, and about $17,148 at Eastern Oregon University. About 53% of students graduate at Portland State University, compared with 40% at Eastern Oregon University. Ten years after enrolling, Portland State University alumni earn a median of about $57,906, against $50,112 for Eastern Oregon University.

Eastern Oregon University

La Grande, OR · Public

Portland State University

Portland, OR · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
La Grande, OR
Portland, OR
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,172
13,182
Acceptance rate
98%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.26–3.76
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1145
1000–1250
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,148
$9,552
Full cost / yr
$26,718
$21,590
In-state tuition
$11,076
$11,679
Out-of-state tuition
$25,431
$31,074
Application fee
$50
$60
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,563
$7,655
$30k - $48k
$11,150
$7,752
$48k - $75k
$14,208
$8,981
$75k - $110k
$22,566
$12,993
Over $110k
$21,835
$19,112
Outcomes
Graduation rate
40%
53%
Freshman retention
71%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,034
$46,937
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,112
$57,906
Median debt at graduation
$20,500
$20,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
35%
42%
First-generation students
46%
39%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Feb 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Sep 20
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University harder to get into?
Portland State University is harder to get into. It admits about 91% of applicants, compared with 98% at Eastern Oregon University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University?
Portland State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,552 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,148 at Eastern Oregon University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Eastern Oregon University and Portland State University?
Before aid, Portland State University costs about $21,590 a year and Eastern Oregon University about $26,718. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University?
Portland State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,655 there, against about $12,563 at Eastern Oregon University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University?
Portland State University is the larger of the two, with about 13,182 undergraduates against 2,172 at Eastern Oregon University.
Does Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University have a better graduation rate?
Portland State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 40% at Eastern Oregon University.
Do graduates of Eastern Oregon University or Portland State University earn more?
Portland State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,906 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,112 for Eastern Oregon University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Eastern Oregon University and Portland State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Eastern Oregon University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Portland State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Eastern Oregon University and Portland State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1145 at Eastern Oregon University and 1000–1250 at Portland State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school