Skip to content

Eastern Washington University vs Washington State University

Eastern Washington University is a public university in Cheney, WA, and Washington State University is a public university in Pullman, WA. Washington State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 87% of applicants against 91% at Eastern Washington University. Eastern Washington University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,886 a year against $14,971 at Washington State University. About 61% of students graduate at Washington State University, compared with 45% at Eastern Washington University. Ten years after enrolling, Washington State University alumni earn a median of about $68,905, against $57,897 for Eastern Washington University.

Eastern Washington University

Cheney, WA · Public

Washington State University

Pullman, WA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Cheney, WA
Pullman, WA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,222
21,099
Acceptance rate
91%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.15–3.65
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1090
1020–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
16–23
20–26
Test policy
Test blind
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,886
$14,971
Full cost / yr
$24,478
$27,648
In-state tuition
$8,586
$13,391
Out-of-state tuition
$25,959
$29,950
Application fee
$60
$70
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,547
$7,074
$30k - $48k
$10,204
$8,971
$48k - $75k
$12,292
$11,519
$75k - $110k
$17,596
$18,426
Over $110k
$22,279
$24,726
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
61%
Freshman retention
67%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,469
$53,510
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,897
$68,905
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
35%
27%
First-generation students
36%
34%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 1
Mar 31

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Eastern Washington University or Washington State University harder to get into?
Washington State University is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 91% at Eastern Washington University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Eastern Washington University or Washington State University?
Eastern Washington University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,886 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,971 at Washington State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Eastern Washington University and Washington State University?
Before aid, Eastern Washington University costs about $24,478 a year and Washington State University about $27,648. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Eastern Washington University or Washington State University?
Washington State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,074 there, against about $9,547 at Eastern Washington University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Eastern Washington University or Washington State University?
Washington State University is the larger of the two, with about 21,099 undergraduates against 6,222 at Eastern Washington University.
Does Eastern Washington University or Washington State University have a better graduation rate?
Washington State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 45% at Eastern Washington University.
Do graduates of Eastern Washington University or Washington State University earn more?
Washington State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $68,905 ten years after enrolling, against about $57,897 for Eastern Washington University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Eastern Washington University and Washington State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Eastern Washington University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Washington State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Eastern Washington University and Washington State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1090 at Eastern Washington University and 1020–1210 at Washington State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school