Skip to content

Faulkner University vs Oakwood University

Faulkner University is a private university in Montgomery, AL. Oakwood University is a private university in Huntsville, AL. Oakwood University admits about 45% of applicants and Faulkner University about 73%, making Oakwood University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $22,085 a year at Faulkner University after aid, and about $25,669 at Oakwood University. About 47% of students graduate at Oakwood University, compared with 38% at Faulkner University. Ten years after enrolling, Faulkner University alumni earn a median of about $43,457, against $42,488 for Oakwood University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Faulkner University

Montgomery, AL · Private

Oakwood University

Huntsville, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Montgomery, AL
Huntsville, AL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,549
1,153
Acceptance rate
73%
45%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.24–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
886–1135
853–1108
ACT (middle 50%)
18–21
16–23
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,085
$25,669
Full cost / yr
$37,626
$40,176
In-state tuition
$23,920
$22,512
Out-of-state tuition
$23,920
$22,512
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,385
$23,999
$30k - $48k
$20,897
$22,444
$48k - $75k
$19,170
$24,501
$75k - $110k
$21,255
$28,074
Over $110k
$22,835
$27,219
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
47%
Freshman retention
64%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,313
$30,969
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,457
$42,488
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
44%
First-generation students
43%
18%
International students
5%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Faulkner University or Oakwood University harder to get into?
Oakwood University is harder to get into. It admits about 45% of applicants, compared with 73% at Faulkner University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Faulkner University or Oakwood University?
Faulkner University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,085 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,669 at Oakwood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Faulkner University and Oakwood University?
Before aid, Faulkner University costs about $37,626 a year and Oakwood University about $40,176. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Faulkner University or Oakwood University?
Faulkner University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $23,385 there, against about $23,999 at Oakwood University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Faulkner University or Oakwood University?
Faulkner University is the larger of the two, with about 1,549 undergraduates against 1,153 at Oakwood University.
Does Faulkner University or Oakwood University have a better graduation rate?
Oakwood University has the higher graduation rate, at about 47% against 38% at Faulkner University.
Do graduates of Faulkner University or Oakwood University earn more?
Faulkner University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,457 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,488 for Oakwood University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Faulkner University and Oakwood University require SAT or ACT scores?
Faulkner University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Oakwood University requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Faulkner University and Oakwood University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 886–1135 at Faulkner University and 853–1108 at Oakwood University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school