Skip to content

Ferrum College vs Old Dominion University

Ferrum College is a private college in Ferrum, VA. Old Dominion University is a public university in Norfolk, VA. Ferrum College admits about 89% of applicants and Old Dominion University about 90%, making Ferrum College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,638 a year at Old Dominion University after aid, and about $20,082 at Ferrum College. About 45% of students graduate at Old Dominion University, compared with 30% at Ferrum College. Ten years after enrolling, Old Dominion University alumni earn a median of about $54,914, against $44,296 for Ferrum College.

Ferrum College

Ferrum, VA · Private

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Ferrum, VA
Norfolk, VA
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
699
17,514
Acceptance rate
89%
90%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1100
1100–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
24–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,082
$14,638
Full cost / yr
$54,526
$29,446
In-state tuition
$28,520
$12,750
Out-of-state tuition
$28,520
$33,780
Application fee
$25
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,940
$9,739
$30k - $48k
$16,493
$10,114
$48k - $75k
$19,967
$13,123
$75k - $110k
$22,505
$16,940
Over $110k
$24,346
$23,567
Outcomes
Graduation rate
30%
45%
Freshman retention
64%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,418
$46,732
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,296
$54,914
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$24,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
54%
37%
First-generation students
39%
33%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Ferrum College or Old Dominion University harder to get into?
Ferrum College is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 90% at Old Dominion University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Ferrum College or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,638 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,082 at Ferrum College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ferrum College and Old Dominion University?
Before aid, Old Dominion University costs about $29,446 a year and Ferrum College about $54,526. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ferrum College or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,739 there, against about $16,940 at Ferrum College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ferrum College or Old Dominion University?
Old Dominion University is the larger of the two, with about 17,514 undergraduates against 699 at Ferrum College.
Does Ferrum College or Old Dominion University have a better graduation rate?
Old Dominion University has the higher graduation rate, at about 45% against 30% at Ferrum College.
Do graduates of Ferrum College or Old Dominion University earn more?
Old Dominion University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,914 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,296 for Ferrum College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Ferrum College and Old Dominion University require SAT or ACT scores?
Ferrum College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Old Dominion University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Ferrum College and Old Dominion University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1100 at Ferrum College and 1100–1280 at Old Dominion University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school