Skip to content

Ferrum College vs Virginia State University

Ferrum College is a private college in Ferrum, VA, and Virginia State University is a public university in Petersburg, VA. Both admit about 89% of applicants. Virginia State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,840 a year against $20,082 at Ferrum College. About 40% of students graduate at Virginia State University, compared with 30% at Ferrum College. Ten years after enrolling, Virginia State University alumni earn a median of about $45,543, against $44,296 for Ferrum College.

Ferrum College

Ferrum, VA · Private

Virginia State University

Petersburg, VA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Ferrum, VA
Petersburg, VA
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
699
5,074
Acceptance rate
89%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1100
840–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
14–20
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,082
$15,840
Full cost / yr
$54,526
$27,661
In-state tuition
$28,520
$10,043
Out-of-state tuition
$28,520
$22,650
Application fee
$25
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,940
$13,220
$30k - $48k
$16,493
$14,758
$48k - $75k
$19,967
$19,463
$75k - $110k
$22,505
$22,223
Over $110k
$24,346
$25,508
Outcomes
Graduation rate
30%
40%
Freshman retention
64%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,418
$33,630
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,296
$45,543
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
54%
72%
First-generation students
39%
34%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Ferrum College or Virginia State University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 89% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Ferrum College or Virginia State University?
Virginia State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,840 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,082 at Ferrum College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ferrum College and Virginia State University?
Before aid, Virginia State University costs about $27,661 a year and Ferrum College about $54,526. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ferrum College or Virginia State University?
Virginia State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,220 there, against about $16,940 at Ferrum College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ferrum College or Virginia State University?
Virginia State University is the larger of the two, with about 5,074 undergraduates against 699 at Ferrum College.
Does Ferrum College or Virginia State University have a better graduation rate?
Virginia State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 40% against 30% at Ferrum College.
Do graduates of Ferrum College or Virginia State University earn more?
Virginia State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,543 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,296 for Ferrum College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Ferrum College and Virginia State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Ferrum College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Virginia State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Ferrum College and Virginia State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1100 at Ferrum College and 840–1070 at Virginia State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school