Skip to content

Fort Hays State University vs Kansas State University

Fort Hays State University is a public university in Hays, KS, and Kansas State University is a public university in Manhattan, KS. Kansas State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 82% of applicants against 90% at Fort Hays State University. Fort Hays State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,569 a year against $19,406 at Kansas State University. About 71% of students graduate at Kansas State University, compared with 48% at Fort Hays State University. Ten years after enrolling, Kansas State University alumni earn a median of about $57,262, against $48,928 for Fort Hays State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Fort Hays State University

Hays, KS · Public

Kansas State University

Manhattan, KS · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Hays, KS
Manhattan, KS
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
9,733
15,142
Acceptance rate
90%
82%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1140
1060–1260
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
20–27
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,569
$19,406
Full cost / yr
$19,909
$27,402
In-state tuition
$5,923
$11,221
Out-of-state tuition
$17,741
$28,568
Application fee
$30
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,661
$13,178
$30k - $48k
$9,776
$14,143
$48k - $75k
$11,941
$15,369
$75k - $110k
$14,266
$20,110
Over $110k
$16,641
$23,665
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
71%
Freshman retention
77%
86%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,428
$49,330
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,928
$57,262
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$21,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
21%
First-generation students
39%
22%
International students
0%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University harder to get into?
Kansas State University is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 90% at Fort Hays State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University?
Fort Hays State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,569 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,406 at Kansas State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Fort Hays State University and Kansas State University?
Before aid, Fort Hays State University costs about $19,909 a year and Kansas State University about $27,402. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University?
Fort Hays State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,661 there, against about $13,178 at Kansas State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University?
Kansas State University is the larger of the two, with about 15,142 undergraduates against 9,733 at Fort Hays State University.
Does Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University have a better graduation rate?
Kansas State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 71% against 48% at Fort Hays State University.
Do graduates of Fort Hays State University or Kansas State University earn more?
Kansas State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,262 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,928 for Fort Hays State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Fort Hays State University and Kansas State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Fort Hays State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Kansas State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Fort Hays State University and Kansas State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1140 at Fort Hays State University and 1060–1260 at Kansas State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school