Skip to content

Fort Hays State University vs University of Kansas

Fort Hays State University is a public university in Hays, KS, and University of Kansas is a public university in Lawrence, KS. Fort Hays State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 90% of applicants against 93% at University of Kansas. Fort Hays State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,569 a year against $18,059 at University of Kansas. About 69% of students graduate at University of Kansas, compared with 48% at Fort Hays State University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Kansas alumni earn a median of about $61,945, against $48,928 for Fort Hays State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Fort Hays State University

Hays, KS · Public

University of Kansas

Lawrence, KS · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Hays, KS
Lawrence, KS
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
9,733
21,217
Acceptance rate
90%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
~3.71 avg
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1140
1070–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
20–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,569
$18,059
Full cost / yr
$19,909
$26,751
In-state tuition
$5,923
$12,102
Out-of-state tuition
$17,741
$30,432
Application fee
$30
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,661
$12,544
$30k - $48k
$9,776
$12,942
$48k - $75k
$11,941
$15,154
$75k - $110k
$14,266
$19,169
Over $110k
$16,641
$22,544
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
69%
Freshman retention
77%
86%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,428
$51,217
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,928
$61,945
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
20%
First-generation students
39%
22%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas harder to get into?
Fort Hays State University is harder to get into. It admits about 90% of applicants, compared with 93% at University of Kansas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas?
Fort Hays State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,569 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,059 at University of Kansas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Fort Hays State University and University of Kansas?
Before aid, Fort Hays State University costs about $19,909 a year and University of Kansas about $26,751. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas?
Fort Hays State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,661 there, against about $12,544 at University of Kansas. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas?
University of Kansas is the larger of the two, with about 21,217 undergraduates against 9,733 at Fort Hays State University.
Does Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas have a better graduation rate?
University of Kansas has the higher graduation rate, at about 69% against 48% at Fort Hays State University.
Do graduates of Fort Hays State University or University of Kansas earn more?
University of Kansas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,945 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,928 for Fort Hays State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Fort Hays State University and University of Kansas require SAT or ACT scores?
Fort Hays State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Kansas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Fort Hays State University and University of Kansas look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1140 at Fort Hays State University and 1070–1300 at University of Kansas. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school