Skip to content

Franklin Pierce University vs Plymouth State University

Franklin Pierce University is a private university in Rindge, NH. Plymouth State University is a public university in Plymouth, NH. Plymouth State University admits about 88% of applicants and Franklin Pierce University about 93%, making Plymouth State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,216 a year at Plymouth State University after aid, and about $27,154 at Franklin Pierce University. About 50% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, Plymouth State University alumni earn a median of about $57,304, against $53,353 for Franklin Pierce University.

Franklin Pierce University

Rindge, NH · Private

Plymouth State University

Plymouth, NH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Rindge, NH
Plymouth, NH
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
992
3,153
Acceptance rate
93%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
3.21–3.71
SAT (middle 50%)
1057–1282
950–1030
ACT (middle 50%)
19–22
16–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,154
$19,216
Full cost / yr
$64,185
$29,644
In-state tuition
$46,442
$14,626
Out-of-state tuition
$46,442
$25,566
Application fee
Not reported
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,364
$14,676
$30k - $48k
$23,557
$14,714
$48k - $75k
$24,473
$17,030
$75k - $110k
$26,943
$21,157
Over $110k
$30,860
$23,020
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
50%
Freshman retention
74%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,563
$46,466
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,353
$57,304
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
29%
28%
First-generation students
30%
27%
International students
5%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University harder to get into?
Plymouth State University is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 93% at Franklin Pierce University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,216 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,154 at Franklin Pierce University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Franklin Pierce University and Plymouth State University?
Before aid, Plymouth State University costs about $29,644 a year and Franklin Pierce University about $64,185. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,676 there, against about $19,364 at Franklin Pierce University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University?
Plymouth State University is the larger of the two, with about 3,153 undergraduates against 992 at Franklin Pierce University.
Does Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 50% of their students.
Do graduates of Franklin Pierce University or Plymouth State University earn more?
Plymouth State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,304 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,353 for Franklin Pierce University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Franklin Pierce University and Plymouth State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Franklin Pierce University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Plymouth State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Franklin Pierce University and Plymouth State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1057–1282 at Franklin Pierce University and 950–1030 at Plymouth State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school