Skip to content

Franklin University vs Ohio University-Zanesville Campus

Franklin University is a private university in Columbus, OH, and Ohio University-Zanesville Campus is a public university in Zanesville, OH. Both admit about 86% of applicants. Ohio University-Zanesville Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $5,746 a year against $25,243 at Franklin University. About 21% of students graduate at Franklin University, compared with 20% at Ohio University-Zanesville Campus. Ten years after enrolling, Ohio University-Zanesville Campus alumni earn a median of about $52,581, against $51,892 for Franklin University.

Franklin University

Columbus, OH · Private

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus

Zanesville, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Columbus, OH
Zanesville, OH
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,562
560
Acceptance rate
86%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.43–3.93
3.36–3.86
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1060–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
21–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,243
$5,746
Full cost / yr
$30,696
$11,041
In-state tuition
$9,577
$6,362
Out-of-state tuition
$9,577
$9,444
Application fee
Not reported
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$24,968
$3,280
$30k - $48k
$25,876
$3,163
$48k - $75k
$24,690
$5,459
$75k - $110k
$25,389
$7,853
Over $110k
$29,964
$8,773
Outcomes
Graduation rate
21%
20%
Freshman retention
36%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,189
$48,991
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,892
$52,581
Median debt at graduation
$20,836
$21,056
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
13%
First-generation students
50%
34%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 86% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus?
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $5,746 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,243 at Franklin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Franklin University and Ohio University-Zanesville Campus?
Before aid, Ohio University-Zanesville Campus costs about $11,041 a year and Franklin University about $30,696. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus?
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,280 there, against about $24,968 at Franklin University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus?
Franklin University is the larger of the two, with about 5,562 undergraduates against 560 at Ohio University-Zanesville Campus.
Does Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus have a better graduation rate?
Franklin University has the higher graduation rate, at about 21% against 20% at Ohio University-Zanesville Campus.
Do graduates of Franklin University or Ohio University-Zanesville Campus earn more?
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,581 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,892 for Franklin University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Franklin University and Ohio University-Zanesville Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
Franklin University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ohio University-Zanesville Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school