Skip to content

Freed-Hardeman University vs Lee University

Freed-Hardeman University is a private university in Henderson, TN, and Lee University is a private university in Cleveland, TN. Freed-Hardeman University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 60% of applicants against 71% at Lee University. Lee University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,878 a year against $21,574 at Freed-Hardeman University. About 70% of students graduate at Freed-Hardeman University, compared with 62% at Lee University. Ten years after enrolling, Freed-Hardeman University alumni earn a median of about $47,485, against $43,222 for Lee University.

Freed-Hardeman University

Henderson, TN · Private

Lee University

Cleveland, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Henderson, TN
Cleveland, TN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,212
2,617
Acceptance rate
60%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
952–1087
1040–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
20–27
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$21,574
$18,878
Full cost / yr
$38,315
$35,688
In-state tuition
$25,620
$23,790
Out-of-state tuition
$25,620
$23,790
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,988
$12,834
$30k - $48k
$21,788
$13,845
$48k - $75k
$19,639
$17,029
$75k - $110k
$21,308
$19,699
Over $110k
$23,618
$24,641
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
62%
Freshman retention
86%
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,086
$38,082
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,485
$43,222
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$25,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
18%
29%
First-generation students
19%
31%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Mar 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University harder to get into?
Freed-Hardeman University is harder to get into. It admits about 60% of applicants, compared with 71% at Lee University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University?
Lee University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,878 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,574 at Freed-Hardeman University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Freed-Hardeman University and Lee University?
Before aid, Lee University costs about $35,688 a year and Freed-Hardeman University about $38,315. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University?
Lee University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,834 there, against about $20,988 at Freed-Hardeman University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University?
Lee University is the larger of the two, with about 2,617 undergraduates against 1,212 at Freed-Hardeman University.
Does Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University have a better graduation rate?
Freed-Hardeman University has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 62% at Lee University.
Do graduates of Freed-Hardeman University or Lee University earn more?
Freed-Hardeman University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,485 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,222 for Lee University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Freed-Hardeman University and Lee University require SAT or ACT scores?
Freed-Hardeman University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Lee University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Freed-Hardeman University and Lee University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 952–1087 at Freed-Hardeman University and 1040–1230 at Lee University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school