Skip to content

Gardner-Webb University vs Winston-Salem State University

Gardner-Webb University is a private university in Boiling Springs, NC, and Winston-Salem State University is a public university in Winston-Salem, NC. Gardner-Webb University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 77% of applicants against 78% at Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,479 a year against $17,674 at Gardner-Webb University. About 59% of students graduate at Gardner-Webb University, compared with 48% at Winston-Salem State University. Ten years after enrolling, Gardner-Webb University alumni earn a median of about $48,039, against $45,344 for Winston-Salem State University.

Gardner-Webb University

Boiling Springs, NC · Private

Winston-Salem State University

Winston-Salem, NC · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Boiling Springs, NC
Winston-Salem, NC
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,856
4,170
Acceptance rate
77%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.28–3.78
SAT (middle 50%)
975–1198
830–1020
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
15–20
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,674
$13,479
Full cost / yr
$47,091
$23,147
In-state tuition
$34,760
$6,126
Out-of-state tuition
$34,760
$16,782
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,304
$11,463
$30k - $48k
$14,594
$12,412
$48k - $75k
$13,769
$14,681
$75k - $110k
$15,946
$18,813
Over $110k
$22,438
$21,405
Outcomes
Graduation rate
59%
48%
Freshman retention
55%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,996
$40,557
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,039
$45,344
Median debt at graduation
$24,222
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
65%
First-generation students
35%
35%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 28

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University harder to get into?
Gardner-Webb University is harder to get into. It admits about 77% of applicants, compared with 78% at Winston-Salem State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University?
Winston-Salem State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,479 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,674 at Gardner-Webb University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Gardner-Webb University and Winston-Salem State University?
Before aid, Winston-Salem State University costs about $23,147 a year and Gardner-Webb University about $47,091. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University?
Winston-Salem State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,463 there, against about $15,304 at Gardner-Webb University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University?
Winston-Salem State University is the larger of the two, with about 4,170 undergraduates against 1,856 at Gardner-Webb University.
Does Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University have a better graduation rate?
Gardner-Webb University has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 48% at Winston-Salem State University.
Do graduates of Gardner-Webb University or Winston-Salem State University earn more?
Gardner-Webb University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,039 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,344 for Winston-Salem State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Gardner-Webb University and Winston-Salem State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Gardner-Webb University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Winston-Salem State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Gardner-Webb University and Winston-Salem State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 975–1198 at Gardner-Webb University and 830–1020 at Winston-Salem State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school