Skip to content

Georgetown College vs Kentucky State University

Georgetown College is a private college in Georgetown, KY. Kentucky State University is a public university in Frankfort, KY. Georgetown College admits about 91% of applicants and Kentucky State University about 96%, making Georgetown College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $8,040 a year at Kentucky State University after aid, and about $14,095 at Georgetown College. About 48% of students graduate at Georgetown College, compared with 30% at Kentucky State University. Ten years after enrolling, Georgetown College alumni earn a median of about $52,074, against $36,382 for Kentucky State University.

Georgetown College

Georgetown, KY · Private

Kentucky State University

Frankfort, KY · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Georgetown, KY
Frankfort, KY
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,097
1,309
Acceptance rate
91%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1160
820–1010
ACT (middle 50%)
20–25
14–17
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,095
$8,040
Full cost / yr
$56,886
$21,727
In-state tuition
$42,840
$9,387
Out-of-state tuition
$42,840
$13,658
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,777
$10,225
$30k - $48k
$7,834
$6,739
$48k - $75k
$9,797
$5,256
$75k - $110k
$16,577
$1,958
Over $110k
$20,207
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
30%
Freshman retention
69%
64%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,393
$29,640
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,074
$36,382
Median debt at graduation
$25,200
$25,938
Student body
Pell grant recipients
35%
58%
First-generation students
33%
40%
International students
5%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Georgetown College or Kentucky State University harder to get into?
Georgetown College is harder to get into. It admits about 91% of applicants, compared with 96% at Kentucky State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Georgetown College or Kentucky State University?
Kentucky State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,040 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,095 at Georgetown College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Georgetown College and Kentucky State University?
Before aid, Kentucky State University costs about $21,727 a year and Georgetown College about $56,886. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Georgetown College or Kentucky State University?
Georgetown College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,777 there, against about $10,225 at Kentucky State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Georgetown College or Kentucky State University?
Kentucky State University is the larger of the two, with about 1,309 undergraduates against 1,097 at Georgetown College.
Does Georgetown College or Kentucky State University have a better graduation rate?
Georgetown College has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 30% at Kentucky State University.
Do graduates of Georgetown College or Kentucky State University earn more?
Georgetown College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,074 ten years after enrolling, against about $36,382 for Kentucky State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Georgetown College and Kentucky State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Georgetown College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Kentucky State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Georgetown College and Kentucky State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1160 at Georgetown College and 820–1010 at Kentucky State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school