Skip to content

Goshen College vs Oakland City University

Goshen College is a private college in Goshen, IN. Oakland City University is a private university in Oakland City, IN. Oakland City University admits about 83% of applicants and Goshen College about 84%, making Oakland City University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,493 a year at Goshen College after aid, and about $15,210 at Oakland City University. About 68% of students graduate at Oakland City University, compared with 63% at Goshen College. Ten years after enrolling, Goshen College alumni earn a median of about $51,943, against $43,283 for Oakland City University.

Goshen College

Goshen, IN · Private

Oakland City University

Oakland City, IN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Goshen, IN
Oakland City, IN
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
773
499
Acceptance rate
84%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.26–3.76
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1110
850–1150
ACT (middle 50%)
23–27
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,493
$15,210
Full cost / yr
$48,449
$42,441
In-state tuition
$38,890
$27,900
Out-of-state tuition
$38,890
$27,900
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,761
$13,980
$30k - $48k
$6,947
$15,781
$48k - $75k
$15,163
$13,637
$75k - $110k
$17,413
$16,005
Over $110k
$19,447
$18,550
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
68%
Freshman retention
80%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,218
$43,190
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,943
$43,283
Median debt at graduation
$22,974
$16,758
Student body
Pell grant recipients
36%
41%
First-generation students
37%
44%
International students
15%
18%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Goshen College or Oakland City University harder to get into?
Oakland City University is harder to get into. It admits about 83% of applicants, compared with 84% at Goshen College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Goshen College or Oakland City University?
Goshen College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,493 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,210 at Oakland City University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Goshen College and Oakland City University?
Before aid, Oakland City University costs about $42,441 a year and Goshen College about $48,449. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Goshen College or Oakland City University?
Goshen College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,761 there, against about $13,980 at Oakland City University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Goshen College or Oakland City University?
Goshen College is the larger of the two, with about 773 undergraduates against 499 at Oakland City University.
Does Goshen College or Oakland City University have a better graduation rate?
Oakland City University has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 63% at Goshen College.
Do graduates of Goshen College or Oakland City University earn more?
Goshen College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,943 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,283 for Oakland City University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Goshen College and Oakland City University require SAT or ACT scores?
Goshen College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Oakland City University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Goshen College and Oakland City University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1110 at Goshen College and 850–1150 at Oakland City University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school