Skip to content

Hardin-Simmons University vs LeTourneau University

Hardin-Simmons University is a private university in Abilene, TX, and LeTourneau University is a private university in Longview, TX. LeTourneau University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 38% of applicants against 90% at Hardin-Simmons University. Hardin-Simmons University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,555 a year against $28,185 at LeTourneau University. About 60% of students graduate at LeTourneau University, compared with 48% at Hardin-Simmons University. Ten years after enrolling, LeTourneau University alumni earn a median of about $57,103, against $54,771 for Hardin-Simmons University.

Hardin-Simmons University

Abilene, TX · Private

LeTourneau University

Longview, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Abilene, TX
Longview, TX
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,283
1,468
Acceptance rate
90%
38%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.28–3.78
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1190
990–1330
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
21–30
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,555
$28,185
Full cost / yr
$45,904
$51,124
In-state tuition
$32,960
$37,160
Out-of-state tuition
$32,960
$37,160
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,822
$22,785
$30k - $48k
$15,190
$21,806
$48k - $75k
$17,248
$24,777
$75k - $110k
$18,182
$28,892
Over $110k
$25,639
$31,854
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
60%
Freshman retention
65%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,392
$51,058
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,771
$57,103
Median debt at graduation
$24,711
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
13%
First-generation students
31%
34%
International students
3%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 19
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University harder to get into?
LeTourneau University is harder to get into. It admits about 38% of applicants, compared with 90% at Hardin-Simmons University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University?
Hardin-Simmons University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,555 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $28,185 at LeTourneau University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Hardin-Simmons University and LeTourneau University?
Before aid, Hardin-Simmons University costs about $45,904 a year and LeTourneau University about $51,124. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University?
Hardin-Simmons University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,822 there, against about $22,785 at LeTourneau University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University?
LeTourneau University is the larger of the two, with about 1,468 undergraduates against 1,283 at Hardin-Simmons University.
Does Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University have a better graduation rate?
LeTourneau University has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 48% at Hardin-Simmons University.
Do graduates of Hardin-Simmons University or LeTourneau University earn more?
LeTourneau University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,103 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,771 for Hardin-Simmons University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Hardin-Simmons University and LeTourneau University require SAT or ACT scores?
Hardin-Simmons University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. LeTourneau University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Hardin-Simmons University and LeTourneau University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1190 at Hardin-Simmons University and 990–1330 at LeTourneau University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school